About memory speed for MacPro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hajime, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. hajime macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    I don't know anything about memory. Could somebody please clarify?
    The current MacPro use 800MHz DDR2 RAM. Self-made PC can take RAM running at 1600MHz or above. Does that mean if the CPU of a MP and a PC are running at the same speed, the Mac Pro performs less well due to slower memory speed?
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Most custom built desktops can be made faster even when using the same processor speed as the MP, not just in memory speed.

    The speed differences as far as I am aware though are neglible, and far out weighed by the ability to support larger memory amounts (and double the bandwidth via quad channel) and more cores.
     
  3. hajime thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #3
    What is quad channel? Is it only available on the MP?
     
  4. Daim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #4
    nothing is available only for the mac pro.. nothing but the case
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    It is available on systems with more than one processor.

    It means there are four memory channels theoretically providing double the bandwidth of normal systems that use dual channel. Again, differences are neglible depending on what is being done.
     

Share This Page