About this Mac Macbook Air 2015

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Drich290195, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. Drich290195 macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #1
    Just a quick one. Picked up a Air Early 2015 and under about this Mac it just says Macbook Air.

    Forgive me if I'm wrong i thought it would say (early 2015) in brackets afterwards.

    Can someone confirm this on there 11inch version. Thanks
     
  2. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

    z31fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    Mukilteo, WA USA
    #2
    I think it's a bug in Yosemite. I had a mid 2013 Air and it was the same as yours. It's a hit or miss it seems.
     
  3. Splitbolt, Jul 19, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2015

    Splitbolt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #3
    Mine isn't an 11" but I have Yosemite. Here is what it shows:


    Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 12.15.37 PM.png
     
  4. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
  5. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #5
    yeah think its just the 11inch where it aint showing
     
  6. imaccooper macrumors regular

    imaccooper

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    My wife's 11" is showing normally

    It says MacBook Air (11-inch, early 2015)
     
  7. MacBoook160, Jul 19, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2015

    MacBoook160 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #7
    My 2015 Air 11 also reflects Splitbolt's and imacooper's screen shot. Curious.
     
  8. X-Caliber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    #8
    Mine says:

    MacBook Air (13-inch, Early 2014)

    I'm curious to see what you come up with.
     
  9. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #9
    Does have 120gb or 128gb as hard drive as Apple seem to think if a component is different this throws off he identifier. Also tried El cap it's the same
     
  10. MacBoook160 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #10
    I'm going to sound ignorant here (not the first time, not the last), but how would it show 120 gb for the SSD?
     
  11. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #11
    Head to disk utility and it will say the ssd size
     
  12. MacBoook160 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #12
    Ah. Merci. And so, even the 512 gb shows as 500 gb. I understand now.
     
  13. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #13
    Going to return it because it can't be right
     
  14. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #14
    returned and the new one is correct very odd indeed
     
  15. MacBoook160 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #15
    Did they offer an explanation for what was wrong? Especially as it was significant enough for them to effect a return?
     
  16. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #16
    They said that it was not written within the firmware correctly. They said it would not cause issue but i found it would not boot off a 10.10 USB as the loader was unable to identify the macbook
     
  17. Saturn1217 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #17
    Hmmm...

    my 2013 13" MBA has the same issue. I never would have noticed if I hadn't seen this thread. I'm not really sure if it is worth going to a genius bar since it has been working just fine for almost 2 years. But thanks for the heads up.
     
  18. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #18
    I recently saw the same missing date in a 15" rmbp.
     
  19. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #19
    Should imagine you will be fine as long as the identifier is set correctly in system profiler
     

Share This Page