"About this mac" not showing my video card

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jgw1283, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. jgw1283 macrumors regular

    jgw1283

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #1
    I have a 2012 MBP with the 1gb 650 video card. For the first week or so when I loaded "About this mac" and "more info" it said the 650 1gb. Now for some reason it's saying HD4000 512mb. In system profiler the Intel 4000 Bus is built in and the 650 is PCIe. Is this normal?
     
  2. It's Electric macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #2
    Yes, the laptop automatically switches between the two cards based on need and power consumption.
     
  3. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #3
    You can also use applications such as gfxCardStatus to view and switch the graphics chip or card in use.
     
  4. jgw1283 thread starter macrumors regular

    jgw1283

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #4
    do I need the 650 active other than when gaming?
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    Probably not. Just let the Mac decide. Usually it works well. Some apps swap to dedicated for no reason and for those I installed gfxCardStatus.
     
  6. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #6
    Most likely not, only use the card when you need it's graphical capabilities - otherwise the HD4000 will handle anything else.
     

Share This Page