About to buy a Macbook, Need advice

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by esadb, Nov 29, 2008.

1. esadb macrumors 65816

esadb

Hi,

Im new on these forums and new to the mac world, but after many years of using windows based machines i want to switch over and give MAC a try.

I found this pretty good deal locally a guy selling a "black macbook,2.0 ghz processor, 1 gig of ram,superdrive,60 gig hard drive,wireless and bluetooth" apparantly has leopard pre installed on it but doenst come with any kind of install dvd's or anything, just a power adapter.

question is, since im totally new to macs, is there anything i should be looking out for? I was researching the black macbooks online and i couldnt find that they came with a 60gb hdd, i only found 80gb so that was a bit weird to me. so any idea what generation this is? And if so any faults with them?

im probably going to take a look at it tomorrow, but would like to know what to keep an eye out for.

also ive seen screen shots of how people display the system information of CPU Speed, Ram etc.. how do i get to that so that i can actually see what CPU its running on, ram etc.. not just believing someone says its 1gb and not verifying 100%

also the price hes looking to get out of it is ~490$

thanks

2. SBG macrumors newbie

probably stolen...especially no restore disc and the seller only wanting 490. Ive seen the broken units go for more than that. I'd save up and buy off the apple refurbished website instead of taking the chance with a stolen unit. From past experience its better to buy from apple.

3. rtmadden macrumors regular

Ditto SBG. Besides, is the unit even on warranty still? Good chance you might end up with a defective unit which will be costly to repair.

4. iParis macrumors 68040

iParis

Same as the other poster, stick with the Apple refurb store.
    You're guaranteed a disk and they're not really that expensive, especially since you know they're going to work and aren't stolen.