Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aponsin

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 28, 2009
Hi All,

This is my first message on the MacRumors forum.
I have been using MacBook and Hackintosh for a few years now.

I do a lot of heavy photography and my macbook is lacking the power I really need to work comfortably. Hence the drooling for the Mac Pro :)

Money always being an issue - to a certain point - I want to minimize the investment cost but still give myself the option to upgrade later on...

Since I am pretty new in the Mac Pro world, I'll probably ask some stupide questions... so please excuse me in advance !

Here we go:

1- Are there really 2 types of Mac Pro ? the 4-core & the 8-core ? Isn't the 4-core upgradable to an 8-core by adding a new processor ?

2- Why does it say on the apple page that the 4-core is limited to 8gig or Ram whereas the 8-core is limited to 32gig ? Looking at some picture and video of the inside it looks like there space for 8 slots on both... I am confused...

3- The graphic card, is it worth to buy the ATI versus the Nvidia? I will most likely do some occasional gaming...

4- RAID card... I am interested by the RAID card to do some Raid 5 for speed and redundancy. But I can't afford the card and the disk right now... How easy is it to upgrade later on? Will I have to reinstall macosx system on the RAID array? How does it work, I am not really familiar with hardware RAID.

5- RAID & Bootcamp, I have read everywhere that bootcamp won't work on the RAID array... ok, what if I do 3 disk on RAID 5 to use as the systems disk for MacOSX and add a 4th standalone disk not even plugged on the RAID card but on the SATA connector of the main board and install Window XP through BootCamp on it? Would that work ? I don't care about seeing my main maxosx partition under windows...