About to buy MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by boysdontcry, Jan 31, 2008.

1. boysdontcry macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I am a 10 year Windows veteran about to make the switch finally. I've been reading these forums for months now. I'm about to get a 15" MacBook Pro (already have the 4GB RAM to swap in) and am wondering if I need to wait for the new one. I love the current MacBook Pro and think if they put in the Air keyboard which I do not like and the touchpad which I don't care too much about then why would I wait. Also, new processor wouldn't matter to me much since the machine will be for nothing heavy. Just normal home use eg. Internet access, Itunes, CD/DVD burning. What do you guys think? Do I really need to wait for the new one?
    Thanks.

2. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

Buy it now it sounds like this is the computer you want it won't make a difference for you anyways.

3. ob81 macrumors 65816

ob81

Well first, it sounds like you would be great with a Macbook, but sometimes people just want the top of the line, which is normal. :) The update to the Macbook Pro is kind of up for grabs. We know that there will be a processor upgrade, and hopefully a video card. The rumors are that there will be a completely redesigned macbook pro soon. This is what makes potential buyers iffy. Will that bother you? If the answer is no then I would go ahead and grab a refurb. I would NOT buy it normal price, because seeing a system that you just bought, being sold for $700 less new right after you bought it, would be a huge letdown.

4. boysdontcry thread starter macrumors newbie