About to clean install Lion -- what to do for SSD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nachorob, Oct 19, 2011.

1. nachorob macrumors newbie

I have a Macbook Pro 5,3 with the Apple installed 256 GB SSD.

I'm going to do a Lion clean install, because I have too much crap (~ 5 GB free now) on here and I like to start fresh every so often and only install the things I actually use.

What should I do with Disk Utility (or whatever) to properly pave the SSD and (hopefully) reset it back to zero? From what I've read doing Disk Utility's 'secure erase' is not what I want... Should I just delete the existing partition and create a new one and go nuts with Lion?

(Oh, I'll be using a bootable Lion usb stick if that matters).

Thanks!

2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

I have little to no experience with SSDs, but nuking the partition map seems like the best approach to me, given what you're trying to do.

3. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k

I assume you have your stuff backed up somewhere besides Time Machine. The time to learn about a corrupted TM backup is BEFORE you wipe Macintosh HD.

From the Lion USB stick you can go in Disk Utility and pick new partition scheme, single partition HFS+ and apply. At that point your SSD is wiped, formatted and empty. You can then install Lion and you are good to go. Sorry I haven't done this so I don't know if the normal Lion install "brings back" the hidden recovery partition but I would expect it to do so.