Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Frankton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 31, 2014
In about 1 week, I'm taking the plunge. I read so many posts in the last year, and thanks to this community, I've made a decision.

rMBP... 15" 2.5GHz, stock.

I've been an IT pro for years, and I'm pretty good with Linux and Windows, but only rarely did anything with Mac. Recently, I started my own media production company, and I've been studying the reasons for and against certain programs and OS's. I already have an iPad Air (64GB LTE) and a few iPhones.

What I really need to know is, what are some good programs for HD video post-production? I don't have a big budget, so the cheaper, the better. I'm not making 2-hour movies, so I don't need a Mac Pro, and I'm usually on-the-go with all this, so mobility is key. I also need to make proper, switchable captioning with DVD and Blu-Ray creation.

Thanks everyone!
(First post, too!)

Frank

uhslax24

macrumors 6502
Jul 21, 2012
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
In about 1 week, I'm taking the plunge. I read so many posts in the last year, and thanks to this community, I've made a decision.

rMBP... 15" 2.5GHz, stock.

I've been an IT pro for years, and I'm pretty good with Linux and Windows, but only rarely did anything with Mac. Recently, I started my own media production company, and I've been studying the reasons for and against certain programs and OS's. I already have an iPad Air (64GB LTE) and a few iPhones.

What I really need to know is, what are some good programs for HD video post-production? I don't have a big budget, so the cheaper, the better. I'm not making 2-hour movies, so I don't need a Mac Pro, and I'm usually on-the-go with all this, so mobility is key. I also need to make proper, switchable captioning with DVD and Blu-Ray creation.

Thanks everyone!
(First post, too!)

Frank

Hey Frank!