About to make the purchase...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by piratezeke, Mar 9, 2008.

1. piratezeke macrumors newbie

Of my first Mac. The only hold-up has been whether to get the 17" or the 15". I was leading toward the 17", but ultimately I want this thing to be portable. Has anyone bought the 15" and regretted it? Or the other way around?

Primary use is going to be for script writing (Final Draft) and I need to learn to use Final Cut Pro (otherwise I'd be going with the MacBook). I am getting the 2.5 with the 7200 rpm HD and the matte screen.

2. forafireescape macrumors 6502a

forafireescape

Good choice with the Pro...

Anyway, I've never regretted my 15". It's never seemed too small, and if anything, I'm glad it's not the 17" so I can cart it around more easily.

3. wk127001 macrumors member

I personally don't consider the 17" portable, more like desktop replacement. As a student I have the 15" and love it. The 17" weighs like 7 pounds too, which is something to consider.

4. rezonat0r macrumors 6502

I have the 17" and would not go smaller, but I'm a big guy. It's only 1.6" larger than the 15.4" version, so I find it funny when people gawk about its portability versus the 15.4". The 1920x1200 screen option is hard to beat, plus it runs cooler and fits in my normal notebook case.

5. markrivers macrumors 6502a

markrivers

goodluck opening the 17 mbp on a plane!
    the 15 inch is portable enough:D

6. heatmiser macrumors 68020

Definitely go with the 15". I've never had an MBP, but I've owned multiple 15" and 17" computers, and the 17" laptops almost always stayed at my desk because they were too large to carry about with me. When sitting, they take up most of your lap, and in cramped quarters, quickly become a burden. The 15" feels smaller psychologically, which will make you far more likely to take it with you.

7. bamf macrumors 6502