About Watching .Vob Files

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by emperoruriel, Mar 8, 2008.

1. emperoruriel macrumors member

From what I read (since I am new to Macs), it is quite possible to play Video_TS folders in Apple DVD player and Front Row.

I wonder though, is it possible to watch .vob files on Front Row. Some of my early experiments allowed me to create these files, and I played them on Intervideo. Since I am switching or should I say have switched, I wonder do I have to rerip the DVDs to Video_TS folders or could I play my .vob files?

I simply cannot find the answer and if I find something related, the information uses the older Mac operating systems like Tiger and not leopard.

I thank you for answering the question.

2. n-abounds macrumors 6502a

n-abounds

Couldn't you just put the .VOB files in a folder named VIDEO_TS. Then open Disk Utility> File> New> Disk Image From Folder. Then select the VIDEO_TS folder and choose Image Format DVD/CD master, with no encryption. Then double click the image that you created (to mount it). Then...and I'm not sure if this works...perhaps Front Row will play it?

3. emperoruriel thread starter macrumors member

Thank you very much for answering. In fact I would love to try out your method but the truth is I have not received the Mac Laptop yet. I am doing all my research before I receive the Laptop so I can be "prepared":D

That method sounds genius. I could have never thought of it myself as it seems beautifully simple. As they say, the most complex of answers are the simple ones.

4. agentphish macrumors 65816

agentphish

If you don't NEED to use front row, don't...

www.videolan.org and get VLC media player. It will play .vob files straight away.