About wifi with an iMac...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Captain Planet, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. Captain Planet macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    If I have a router at home, do I still need an Airport to connect on wifi with my iMac? Or should it work without one?
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. Captain Planet thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Alright... then I know that's not the problem. But I still can't figure out why I cannot connect with the router I'm using.
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Getting any error messages?
     
  5. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #5
    1) Brand of router?

    2) Is the router's firmware up to date?

    3) Type of wireless security on the router, if any?

    4) Is the router set to accept the flavor of wireless on your iMac (802.11b, g, n?)
     

Share This Page