Absinthe will not work on my Mac?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Jimmy Guphanti, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. Jimmy Guphanti macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    For reasons unknown to me, I can not get Absinthe to work on my Mac. I have a 21.5 inch Thunderbolt iMac. No matter what I do, I always get "Device detection failed. Please unplug device and plug it back in." If I try in on my friends' MacBook Pro, it will work fine, matter of fact, it will work on any computer but mine. If I make a new account on my computer and try it on there, it will work, but while on my account (Administrator Privileges) Absinthe always says "Device detection failed. Please unplug device and plug it back in." On another thread, someone said it has something to do with an old Wi-Fi Sync client for Mac, that worked with an app for iOS 4. This app is obviously gone from my iPhone since it is on iOS 5.1.1, but it was still on my Mac, so I uninstalled it. Still no dice. Does anyone here have any ideas or have experienced the same problem?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #2
    I can't believe that nobody else has had this problem.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    I read of this occasionally. I have a houseful of Macs and never encountered this.
    Try re-downloading and re-installing Absinthe to the desktop, then reboot.
    Use different USB port and cable if available.
    Thinking it is a conflict with some obscure app you have installed as it is so rare.
     
  4. outz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #4
    could it be permissions got screwed up somewhere w/ your profile? repair permissions in disk util.
     
  5. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #5
    I have tried everything. I cannot figure this out. I am thinking of scraping my Mac, and putting my stuff back on by hand to isolate the problem. Well maybe not because I have too much stuff. There has got to be someone out there with this problem. Just to note, I had the exact same problem back when there was that Crash Reporter program, that used the same GUI. I can use Redsn0w perfectly fine, but Absinthe does not work. So frustrating.
     
  6. seanwebb68, Jun 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012

    seanwebb68 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #6
    Does itunes see you phone on your mac?

    Close Absinthe.
    First, make sure the device is detected properly in iTunes.
    Make a backup if you did not.
    If the device is detected properly in iTunes try the following:
    OSX/Linux: go to .config directory in your home folder and rename the libimobiledevice folder to libimobiledevice.bak
    Open up Absinthe again, it should detect your device now.

    If the above doesn't work you could try a SMC reset? Also try resetting the PRAM.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964 = SMC reset

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379 = PRAM reset
     
  7. Jimmy Guphanti, Jun 19, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012

    Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for the response!

    Unfortunately, I tried all of the things that you listed, and the problem remains. doing the .config thing just makes Absinthe crash. The device is detected perfectly fine in iTunes. In case it helps, out of curiosity, I connected my iPad 2 to the computer, opened Absinthe, and it detected the iPad right away with no problems. This is really puzzling.
     
  8. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #8
    I tried what you said, still not working.

    ----------

    I tried it, and it's still not working.
     
  9. seanwebb68 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #9
    When you updated your phone did you restore from a backup?

    If so i wonder if there is still files on the iPhone relating to wifi sync.

    You could try putting the phone ito dfu mode restoring then before restoring from backup jailbreak then phone then try it.

    Thats a bit of a task if it doesn't work but if all else fails what else do you have to lose
     
  10. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #10
    I think it has more to do with the computer, since this problem does not happen if I try to jailbreak on a different computer, or simply make a new account on my computer and try it on there. There has to be something on my user account that is messing with Absinthe.
     
  11. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #11
    "Absinthe will not work on my Mac?"

    Is this a question or a statement, or are you not sure?
     
  12. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #12
    it also doesnt work on my mac. it just gets stuck at Waiting for reboot :/
     
  13. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #13
    It's a declaration.
     
  14. chr1s60 macrumors 68000

    chr1s60

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I had all types of issues on my mac when I tried to jailbreak using Absinthe. Have you tried booting into safe mode and then jailbreaking? That is what finally did the trick for me.
     
  15. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #15
    That did fix it the first few times, but not anymore.
     
  16. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #16
    UPDATE: Recently the power went out at my house for about 2 minutes while my computer was on. When the power came back on, my computer booted up. After this, Absinthe detected my device, but the jailbreak failed. I restarted the computer, and now it is back to the same issue again.
     
  17. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
  18. Philipgourmet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #18
    Absinthe problems on ipad 1

    For me absinthe worked well on my iphone 4 and 4s
    Could not make it work on my i pad 1,
    Cannot conect to device tried both mac and windows changed cables etc ...
    The i pad was restored and clean so no obscure app cannot be the reason
    Used the latest version of redsnow and it worked
     

Share This Page