Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JoshNerd557

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2010
Okay, so I would LOVE to program, pretty much anything, but the problem is I don't know where to start my journey! I have no experience with any thing to do with programming. I have done one, and only one programming thing (sorta). It was making button codes in action script (Flash Pro CS4. So could any kind experienced developers help me? I would appreciate it greatly as I've been trying to learn for 2 yrs now... :(

I JUST LOVE THESE APPLE ICONS >>> :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple: :apple:

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
You need to pick a goal in order to narrow things down a bit. Do you want to develop programs for your Mac, iDevice, mobile web, ...

What have you tried in the past couple of years? What has worked, and what hasn't?

B

JoshNerd557

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2010
I would mainly like to learn Mac and iOS but for now just focus on iOS. Thanks for repling by the way.

wpotere

Oct 7, 2010
I would mainly like to learn Mac and iOS but for now just focus on iOS. Thanks for repling by the way.

Degree aside (not really helpful here) you need to pick a language to start with.

Most schools start with Java as it is a full object oriented programming language (OOP). That being said, if you are only interested in Mac, then Objective C is probably a good place to start. Most of the OOP style languages are very similar in format and only the syntax differs. So, it is not realy hard to switch to another language. I learned Java (lots of learning material out there) and I now work as a C# programmer.

No matter what language you learn there are some great books out there to help you learn the basic concepts. He even made a few for other languages as well. Start small and get the basics down.