Absolute beginner looking for basic advice...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Gumbercules, Jul 2, 2010.

1. Gumbercules macrumors member

Hello all,

I have decided to take a year out of work to lean how to make web sites, but am at the moment particularly uncertain as to how I should be going about it.

At the end of university I bought the CS5 master collection (because of the discount), and so I have all of the programs that the package affords, but am really looking for information as to:

1) which programs are best to start with, and

2) what are the best tutorial books to get to teach me them...any recommendations?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.:)

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

I'd hit up the stickies in this forum. They're there for just this reason, to get you started.

3. rickiac macrumors newbie

Here are some sites I use:
    Photoshopuser.com (Photoshop membership site, tuts updated every fri, subscription required)
    layersmagazine.com
    Kelbytv.com
    Kelbytraining.com (paid online training, books, etc..)
    tv.adobe.com (tuts for all Adobe programs, see show "Taming the Web" for Dreamweaver)
    revsion3.com show: Pixel Perfect (for Photoshop, shows are no longer made but tuts are great!)
    I use Google reader subscribe to
    delicious.com tags hmtl, css, etc... (you should also bookmark/read the sites these post link too)

Hope this help to get you started. :p

4. citizenzen macrumors 65816

learn how to hand-code HTML and CSS. Don't fall for any WYSIWYG schemes.

I recently bought Coda and love it! But many text editors and FTP clients will do.

5. carlosbutler macrumors 6502a

carlosbutler

In my opinion best route is:

Learn basic syntax, and how mark up languages work.