AC/DC Adapter Question for a Mac Mod.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by ReanimationLP, May 14, 2007.

  1. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #1
    I'm working on an adapter, and was curious.

    Is the - ground and the + the voltage on the adapter?

    Or do I tie both together to get the voltage.

    I'm working on reviving a Gigabit Ethernet G4 from the dead by hacking together a power supply and then using a 28v wall adapter from an old printer.

    I dont have a voltmeter.

    Oh, and I'm guessing the cable with the white stripe is positive, right?

    I mean, there isnt much to lose if I f*** up, but still, I'd rather have this machine working again.
     
  2. Bobdude161 macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #2
    If ya don't get an answer here, you can try www.macmod.com. I trust them more with Mac modding questions than here. Don't worry MR it's not personal, promise!
     
  3. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #3
    Go buy a multimeter.
     
  4. MongoTheGeek macrumors 68040

    MongoTheGeek

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    Its not so much where you are as when you are.
    #4
    I was so happy when I got my fluke multimeter for Christmas...

    /just realized how sad that sounds
    //then again there are silly people who like to get clothes
    ///nekkid with a multimeter
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    I have the original wind tunnel Power Supply from an MDD. I have no idea if its the same as the QS, but you are welcome to have it if you pay the shipping.
     

Share This Page