Access Blocked sites on MAC (OS X 10.5+)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by wwatfa, Oct 2, 2010.

1. wwatfa macrumors newbie

Ok, I searched the forum first but could not find the answer i was looking for ! so here goes,

I currently live in Qatar, where 99% of any interesting site is blocked by the service provider !

i am no MAC expert, so i used Hotspot shield which was working fine, but since some time now, it does not work anymore ! the page simply does not load up !

i searched for a free alternative but without success !

anyone can suggest an alternative software which i can downlaod (switch ON) and surf freely ?

2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

TOR, Circumventor.

Also, are there ANY movements to change this? I mean, how long really will Qtel continue to block content it thinks is not "moral"?

3. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

Rodimus Prime

only true way around it is use a proxy. Chances are most of the public proxy will be blocked.

4. wwatfa thread starter macrumors newbie

Exactly !

hot spot shield works greatly on Windows ! but it is not working on MAC !

i really dont know what to do ! hope that someone has an alternative for MAC

5. wwatfa thread starter macrumors newbie

by the way

i tried TOR yesterday ! it did not work ! the site still gave be blocked after i downloaded and installed it !

does TOR work for anyone ?

6. Peterkro macrumors 68020

Peterkro

Is Tor working on any sites or are you trying to access one particular site (Tor maybe be blocking flash and making YouTube for instance not work) is it the latest version from torproject.org and are you following the instructions,Tor is your best bet but you may need to invest some time and effort to get it working correctly.(it appears your using 10.5 which should be fine but note there is a problem with the browser launching with 10.6 the work around is on the torproject site).

7. wwatfa thread starter macrumors newbie