Access PPC mac from Intel

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MarkC426, Dec 4, 2016.

  1. MarkC426 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Does anyone know if there is a way for me to access my G5 from my Intel Mac pro, whether its remote desktop, virtual machine etc. Just want to know if it's doable?
     
  2. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #2
    Yep. Just go to Sharing in system preferences on the G5. Now check "screen sharing". On your Mac Pro, the name of the G5 should show up in the Finder sidebar. Click it. Now click on Share Screen. Let me know if you have any issues. I would be a little more detailed but I'm on my iPhone now, which I find hard to type on.
     
  3. MarkC426 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    That's cool, thanks wasn't sure if there would be an issue with different architectures.
     
  4. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #4
    Nope. I've tested it and it works great.
     
  5. MagicBoy, Dec 4, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2016

    MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    Screen sharing works well. I use it to access a couple of my PowerPC Macs, even works on OS X 10.2!
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Macs running OS X have had SMB since OS X 10.1.5.

    SMB (Server Message Block) is the standard protocol for file sharing and has been for years.

    Just turn on filesharing on the G5, be sure to click on options and use SMB, if you want to share files on a network.

    I connect from my MacPro at work to my Leopard only iMac G5 all the time.
     
  7. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #7
    But you can't do screen sharing over it, right? I guess you could buy an old version of Apple Remote Desktop.
     
  8. for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #8
    By the way, Leopard provides noticeably better refresh rate in screen sharing than Tiger.
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    You can screen share. The protocol is the same.

    That said, I don't usually bother with native Mac screen sharing, especially at work.

    The Macs that I need to run screen sharing on are running OSXvnc. OSXvnc allows you to install a system service that starts screen sharing the moment the driver is loaded on boot. That means you can remotely view the final bootup and interact with the Mac on the login screen.

    For PCs I use UltraVNC for the same reason. It has a viewer component as well that can also be installed and run on any PC.

    To remotely view a Mac or PC on a Mac I use Chicken of the VNC. It offers the ability to store different connections and can send special keys to PCs (such as CTRL+ALT+DEL).

    All in all, the native Mac remote viewer and screensharing is adequate for most purposes. I just prefer more options which is why I use what I use instead. Since the VNC protocol is the same between Mac and PC the ability to use Chicken of the VNC or UltraVNC between everything is useful.
     
  10. bobesch, Dec 4, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2016

    bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #10
    I use FileSharing/ScreenSharing out of the box with all my PPC running Leopard and connect with both PPC- and intel-Macs.
    Yes, VNC-Clients like Chicken are another option.
    If you use a powerful intel-mac as the server, you may also log into that server as an additional user behind the screens and run a separate session, while the user sitting in front of the server may work without being affected.
    So you basically need only one fast intel-mac (server) and a couple of PPC clients (clients) to log into that mac with different user names to make each PPC use that intel-mac for stuff, that doesn't work with the PPC. - I've just checked it for the first time. Only audio output/streaming to the client doesn't work - even with another intel-mac/10.11 (MB2008) there's no option to stream audio from the server-session to the client (neither with iTunes nor with Airfoil)... :( A workaround is to use file-sharing for streaming video/audio, because then the client's audio/video-ressorces are used for playback.
     
  11. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    The screen sharing protocol is VNC. OS X helps automate the connection, it's also how the screen sharing works via iCloud over the Internet for supported OS'.
     
  12. for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #12
    Yeah, that's why in Tiger, which, unlike Leopard, doesn't have the built-in ability to control other Mac, I can use Chicken of the VNC to control an Intel Mac.
     
  13. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #13
    If memory serves, Apple wanted to charge you extra money for it in the form of ARD as an enterprise feature.
     
  14. SourceSunTom macrumors regular

    SourceSunTom

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    France
    #14
    If you want to transfert files i recommend DropCopy, it's really cool !
    It's sort of a "AirDrop" alternative
     
  15. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #15
    Yes, but then they buckled and offered it in Leopard. I think I have an ARD box sitting around somewhere. I also remember that it was $70...for VNC
     
  16. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #16
    Thanks for this, it looks really cool! Just need to find a working PowerPC version.
     
  17. GetToDaChopa macrumors member

    GetToDaChopa

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    #17
    did you find one that works with ppc, i would love to be able to transfer files across over wifi. i found this page with an old version download but not at home to try it yet http://10base-t.com/macintosh-software/dropcopy/
     
  18. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #18
    The main website has a version.
     
  19. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    I've always liked this idea. I have the app somewhere.

    My problem with DropCopy is that I already have Dropbox. DropCopy has to stay open and both Macs must be awake. Dropbox runs in the background and neither Mac needs to be awake.
     
  20. GetToDaChopa macrumors member

    GetToDaChopa

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    #20
    but dropbox does not work with ppc computers anymore, or so i thought?
     
  21. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #21

Share This Page