access to the genius bar

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by spitfyre, Dec 14, 2008.

1. spitfyre macrumors newbie

I'm new to Mac and I'm a little confused about customer service. If I don't have Apple Care on my machine, and I bought my machine at an Apple store, can i still make an appointment at the genius bar if i have a problem or question? Thanks!

2. Str8edgepunker macrumors 6502

Yeah sure. Anyone can make an appointment and get some questions answered. However if they need to do hardware service or something like that on you computer, you'd have to pay for it. Hope that helps.

Also, when did you purchase your machine? You can still purchase applecare for it within the first year of ownership.

3. Reflow macrumors 68000

Reflow

Yes they will help you

4. ssh macrumors member

If you're within the first year, I'd suggest getting AppleCare. It will likely more than pay for itself.

5. spork183 macrumors 6502a

spork183

If you don't have applecare and you make an appointment, the bar tender won't serve you the hard stuff...

Yes, they'll help you, after all, they are geniui...

6. iParis macrumors 68040

iParis

Yep.
    You can get an appointment for anything.
    It doesn't even have to be within the six months warranty.
    Now what they do in accordance to the problem is another thing; there are certain factors that come into play such as the device, Genius (how nice is is and what kind of a person he/she is), how old your device is, the problem, etc.

7. spitfyre thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for the prompt replies!

i just got my machine, so i still have applecare for now. i've been thinking about getting it, but honestly it seems outrageous to pay so much for those services after paying all this for my machine. but as long as i know that i can go complain to a real live person, i guess i can't be too irritated.

8. spork183 macrumors 6502a

spork183