Accessing 10.7 lion remotely via VNC

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by dime21, Jan 26, 2012.

  1. dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #1
    howdy, i've got a mac mini running 10.7 lion. i want to access the desktop of it remotely. i want to access it from a machine that is running linux. is there a specific vnc client, or some specific vnc settings i need to access 10.7 desktop?

    a google search gives plenty of results, but none of them work for me. some vnc clients either fail to connect, or they show a grey osx screen with login prompt, but it freezes up as soon as i click on anything.

    i assume this behavior is some quirk to do with 10.7 lion?

    thanks

    ----------

    ok, looks like i'm not the only one with these problems. probably i will go back to 10.6 snow leopard.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3289794?start=0&tstart=0
     
  2. Foogoofish macrumors regular

    Foogoofish

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #2
    VNC is fine, VPN is fine, Remote Management is fine.....


    I would have another check of your setup on the Mac Mini before reverting, or even the fact that it could be something to do with Linux(?) and the screen sharing browser you are using.
     
  3. dime21 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #3
    kindly read the thread i linked to in the apple forums and you will see that it most definitely is not fine. it's a serious compatibility problem that has yet to be addressed by apple.

    it seems my only two options are jumping through hoops to "kickstart" the services every so often, or going back to snow leopard which has much better vnc compatibility and reliability.
     
  4. mainstay macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #4
    try tightvnc for linux...

    report back with findings.

    any errors?
     
  5. Foogoofish, Jan 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012

    Foogoofish macrumors regular

    Foogoofish

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #5
    So you are saying that while I am here, and using it every day without issue, that fact that you are connecting from a Linux box means there must be a problem with the mac side?

    Please correct me if I am wrong in what I think you are saying.


    Edit: If it is a linux issue, then surely you want a linux forum or tech support?
     
  6. uaaerospace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    I have issues even when using the built in screen sharing client. Each time I try to connect from Lion to Lion via Screen Sharing, the remote machine kernel panics instantly -- not good for a remote machine. I didn't have this issue with Snow Leopard.
     

Share This Page