Accessing Blocked Programs on Mac, such as terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by TheAshAtomic, Mar 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheAshAtomic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #1
    Can someone pleases tell me a way to access terminal on Mac if it's blocked? Your will be deeply appreciated, I'm at school and its blocked.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Yes. Get your own Mac to access those apps. The school blocked them on their computers for a reason.
     
  3. TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Then ask your system administrator to unblock it from your account. If you have a legitimate reason, he or she should have no problem with giving you access.
     
  5. TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #5
    well the problem is that the administrator is from the school district board, if it was from our school then i would have asked. I just need a way to access it without an administrator unblocking it. I need a way to unblock terminal.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    I think it's more accurate to say you want a way to unblock terminal. You don't need it. If this is the only reason you joined this site, you're likely to be disappointed.
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    If you are currently blocked there is either a good reason or it is an error. I assume you know the best point of contact to help you if there is an error. You cannot access Terminal if it is blocked on your account.
     
  9. TheAshAtomic, Mar 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011

    TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #9
    to use some programming codes, ive learnt like java codes and all. People say i could use terminal to learn programming. I joined this websitge because, im not very familiar with mac. In my old school we had windows, so im used to windows more than mac.

    to use some programming codes, ive learnt like java codes and all. People say i could use terminal to learn programming. I joined this websitge because, im not very familiar with mac. In my old school we had windows, so im used to windows more than mac.

    well the problem is that, terminal is blocked
     
  10. GGJstudios, Mar 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Don't you understand what we've been saying? Terminal is blocked for a reason. Leave it alone. They don't want kids using Terminal and screwing things up because they don't know what they're doing. It's not your Mac. If you want to use Terminal, get your own Mac.
     
  11. waynep macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #11
    The computers belong to the school right? They blocked the terminal . . . So the right thing to do is ask the school for terminal access.
     
  12. TheAshAtomic, Mar 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011

    TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #12
    the admin of the school network, comes once a blue moon

    well thanks for your advice, it helps my current problem, thank u
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    So wait till the blue moon. It sounds like their Parental Controls are working as intended.
     
  14. TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #14
    not really we can still access videos, music websites and download things, so the parental controls are messed up. We can access all those yet we cant even access notepad! or what i was trying to access, terminal.
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    Parental controls can allow access to videos and websites, even downloading, but still restrict other activities. It sounds like the restrictions are, indeed, working.
     
  16. TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #16
    we cant access youtube but we can access google videos. we cant access a simple application well known as notepad. We arent allowed to go to music websites yet we can still visit a few. So it seems the parental controls arent working. I just need a way to bypass to access simple applications like notepad, but if u can help access terminal, that will be great.
     
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    We will not help you circumvent the restrictions put in place by your school. How many times do you have to hear that before you get it?
     
  18. TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #18
    maybe a few thousand, but its ridiculous why we cant even access notepad! never mind about terminal.
     
  19. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    OK:
    Answer: No! (copy and paste as many times as necessary)
     
  20. TheAshAtomic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere on earth
    #20
    yo people thanks anyway, i appreciate u took ur time to answer my Q's
     
  21. ufkdo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Location:
    Turkey
    #21
    Even an extra space or comma or dot may screw the system up in terminal. Terminal is there just for professional users (e.g. if you put a space between ~ and / with force delete command, all your library files will be deleted immediately and there is no way to get them back if you don't have any backup). So, I strongly recommend you to leave Terminal alone, until you get more familiar with Mac Os X.

    Besides, I don't think there is another way to unblock it then administrator panel.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page