Accessing microsim on 3G

Discussion in 'iPad' started by dnc1916, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. dnc1916 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    I've just read something on another forum about getting at the microsim on the 3G iPad. I had assumed the tray holding the microsim can be popped in and out just like on the iPhone but these guys said that the microsim isn't really accessible at all and you would need to remove the glass screen from the iPad (essentially disassembling it) in order to get to the microsim.

    I find this incredible, especially as the iPad is meant to be unlocked so you can use whatever 3G provider you want. Also this would mean that eg in the UK, where three 3G providers are going to have plans for the iPad, there would need to be 3 different iPAds ie an O2 UK iPad, Orange UK iPad and Vodafone UK iPad.

    I refuse to believe this but these guys seem adamant. I realise very few people have seen an actual 3G one for real yet, but can anyone shed any light on this?

    I have a 3G one pre-ordered in the US with the intention of taking it back here and putting in my own SIM. I'd better cancel that order soon if this is true....!
     
  2. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    It can't be true, what would be the point in advertising them as unlocked?
     
  3. Trek2100 macrumors 6502a

    Trek2100

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    #3
    Apple's website under tech specs says Micro-SIM card tray (WiFi + 3G model only)
    http://www.apple.com/ipad/specs/
     
  4. dnc1916 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    Well I bloody well hope it's not true. I was in shock here!

    Here's what the guy said:
    "and of course you can't access the sim without taking off the screen and I wouldn't do that unless you like looking at specs of dust constantly!"

    I've been looking at Apple's gallery pics of the iPad and there is no obvious sign of an accessible sim tray and it's definitely not pointed out in any of the official pictures. I know it does mention a sim tray - it couldn't possibly be an internal sim tray of some sort could it?!

    Total panic here, almost rang my cousin in the US to tell her to cancel my order!! :)
     
  5. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #5
    As I've said before in a different thread, the sim tray is located in the lower left side of the device.
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    don't worry the guy is thick! The glass and LCD is a sealed unit for a start and if you did pop it off it comes off as a complete unit. The sim card is inserted exactly the same as the iPhone. Apple are not inserting simcards into the ipad at all!
     
  7. jamies90 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Obviously this site is chatting crap.

    On the Apple site it states clearly that in the box there is a sim eject tool included.
     
  8. dnc1916 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    Thanks guys, I feel better now :)))
    Almost cried :D
    I'll edit the title of the thread now!
     
  9. Trek2100 macrumors 6502a

    Trek2100

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    #9
    I hope this eases your pain:):

    http://www.technixupdate.com/eject-3g-micro-sim-card-from-ipad/
     
  10. dnc1916 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
  11. Trek2100 macrumors 6502a

    Trek2100

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    #11
    I could use some of that right now:eek: I'll have to settle for Absolut Vodka or 1800 silver tequila. Rather have the Irish whiskey:D Have a great day!
     
  12. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #12
    on the apple site it says there is a sim card removal tool unless you take that small metal and beat the ipad with it in order to get the sim im sure there is a tray.
     
  13. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #13
    There was someone here on Macrumors saying this over and over a couple weeks ago in various threads. He was very insistent that the SIM was inaccessible and under the screen. :rolleyes: Of course that doesn't make any sense because they're going to be distributing the same hardware internationally. They wouldn't redesign the device for other countries.

    Absolutely right. That was brought up to that person and he was insisting that information was wrong.
     
  14. Trek2100 macrumors 6502a

    Trek2100

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    #14
    See my post,#9. The link shows the card slot. Also, on Macworld.com there is an article saying the iPad can be used overseas by buying a paid for Micro-sim. It also said there were some providers that do not have the micro-sim. This may have changed since the original article was written in January. Someone may have been purposely providing incorrect information. That would not be the first time it has happened.
     

Share This Page