Accessing MobileMe website using iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Juventuz, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. Juventuz macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #1
    I've bought an iPad for the wife and I and have my mobileme mail set up through the mail app, but my wife didn't want hers included. She'd prefer to check her email through the mobileme website when on the iPad. Only problem is that when you go to me.com or mobileme.com it directs you to a page about setting up the mail app for use.

    Is there any way around this? Seems a bit odd that you can't access the regular site. It'd be nice if the iPad allowed for multiple profiles, but that's another story.
     
  2. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  3. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #3
    Yeah, it's just like the iPhone, the ME website can only be accessed via desktop/laptop computer..
     
  4. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #4
    Well that sucks... so much for a full web experience huh ;)
     
  5. cheekyjeremy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #5
    If the ipad is anything like the iphone and touch, just download a different browser, and the me.com page will open normally
     
  6. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #6
    Why doesn't it work though? Is it using Flash? That would certainly be ironic, it's hard to believe.
     
  7. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #7
    Thanks, great suggestion!

    I was looking for a solution too. I just tried this on my iPhone (at work and do not have my wife's iPad with me) and it works great. I used Opera on the iPhone by the way.

    Thanks!
     
  8. TheScappian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #8
    Yea Atomic Browser lets you change what browser it identifies itself as. That would probably get past the redirect.
     
  9. BeyondtheTech macrumors 68020

    BeyondtheTech

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #9
    While waiting for my iPad+3G to arrive, I'm tinkering around with my wife's iPad.

    I also can't seem to surf to any me.com site without Apple's stupid advertisement or notice on how to set it up for the iPad.

    It's already set up for my wife, and she gets her mail and information just nicely!

    I just want to be able to see mine without having to remote into my iMac from it.

    Frustrating.
     
  10. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #10
    Yes, as far as I know, that's the only work around to get an iPhone/iPod Touch or iPad to the ME site..
     

Share This Page