Accessing NAS / SMB remotely (Lacie Classic HD)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Tooster, Dec 27, 2010.

1. Tooster, Dec 27, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010

Tooster macrumors newbie

Hi,

I would like to setup my Lacie Classic HD to be able to access it from outside the LAN. at the moment it uses DHCP on the wireless network ( to which it's connected with a usb wifi adapter) and i'm guessing i have a dynamic IP from my ISP. i downloaded an app from the lacie site that shows me almost all of the network specs there are for the drive. in those specs i see:
    Model , MAC Address, interface config, ip address (192.168.1.108 won't change a lot since it's constantly on), subnet mask, gateway address, but then also DNS Address and WINS (but there is no WINS address).

I remember DNS being a good thing ... i setup my a security cam once and DNS made it possible to watch from everywhere with dynamic IP, however there was a paid service for the DNS part of it. (I'm a noob to DNS)

when i acces the disk over LAN it uses SMB.
    I have a linksys E1000 router.

is it possible to access from outside the LAN?
    if so, what are the necessary steps to take?
    I don't mind the NAS being on all the time but i can't have a computer on all the time.
    i've been reading about ssh, ftp, VPN, mapping the drive etc...
    i don't care too much about security, i'd rather have user friendly then oversecure.
    i just want the disk to show up on my desktop like it does now when i'm at home, but i want this everywhere (certainly at college).

Thnx for the help!

EDIT:

when i entered the ip address in Opera i got this:
    i thought this might be interresting, no?

2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020