accessing readyNAS problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cast4604, Oct 8, 2013.

1. cast4604 macrumors newbie

If this is in the wrong section, I'm so sorry and please let me know ASAP! Thank you!

I'd never even heard of NAS until the IT guy at the lab I work at suddenly left for Germany and won't respond to emails, leaving me to figure out everything. I'm just an undergrad assistant and the professor is expecting me to fix this, but I have no idea what's going on. Any patience, or links to relevant information is greatly appreciated! I don't know if the information I'm giving is relevant or not, but I'll try my best.

The lab has a readyNAS NVX, and the professor has a new mac. The researchers' laptops and such can access the the shared drive on it while connected to the university wifi. With the PCs, they were set up by from files on an admin page in the department, where you could create new users, and new shares. Each computer that connects to the share drive should have a unique user name, and matching share. The share is the backup drive ( Z:\ ) for that computer. There is one mac set up with it, but no one remembers how it was done.

ALTHOUGH, I'm guessing setting up a shared drive user for my boss would come after getting access to the NAS, right?
    I gave him this to see how it'd work, http://www.readynas.com/kb/faq/mac_osx/how_do_i_access_a_readynas_share_with_a_mac
    He started, but when he gets to Network, he sees no entries. The instructions say "My Network" should be next, but there's nothing. He says the IP didn't seem to be right.

I guess my first question is: what other information from him do I need to continue researching and solving this problem? Is there anything I can try now?
    Is there a different thread that I should read that would help me out?

Thank you so much for reading! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

2. pastrychef macrumors 601

pastrychef