Accidentally deleted all my photos in iPhoto

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by IBradMac, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I was trying to clear up some space on my Mac after I noticed I only had about 10 gb left on my hd. Then I opened iPhoto and it asked what library I wanted to load. None of my pics came up.

    I have time machine and back up regularly. My question is- how to find that backup file/folder. What is it called?

    Thanks
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    The iPhoto Library file, called "iPhoto Library", is stored under Macintosh HD (name of the volume Mac OS X is installed on) / Users / YOU / Pictures / iPhoto / iPhoto Library.
     
  3. ARF900 macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #3
    Ok, first go into users on your mac, navigate to pictures and see if there is a file called "iPhoto library" This should be a large, and old file.

    If the file's date of creation is today or the day you deleted things, delete it, then you will have to navigate to this file on your time machine, put it in your pictures folder and double click it.
     
  4. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    When I search finder all I can find in iPhoto Library is acknowledgements.

    I am lost. :eek:
     
  5. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    I do not see such a file.
     
  6. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #6
    At that point, click on the time machine icon near top right and enter time machine. Then start navigating back in time (right hand side of the time machine screen) until it appears. If you know it was there say 2 days ago, go directly to that point. Once you see it, click on it once, then click "restore" (bottom right)
     

Share This Page