accidentally deleted cydia

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kari511, May 17, 2012.

1. kari511 macrumors newbie

Hello all,

Im new to this and have very little experience with the subject. i recently purchased an att&t iphone4s i jailbroke it and had cydia on there but recently i accidently deleted cydia. i have read other threads but since im new to this i dont really know how to resolve this issue. i do not have ssh, ifile, or anything like that (nor know how to get it). I do not want to restore the iphone since i do not know how to jailbreak it from ios 5.1, and getting cydia back is my only option for unlocking this phone which was the intended outcome of all this.

thanks in advance

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

3. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

ZCherub

It's like accidentally getting a DUI - you accidentally stumble and fall into your car, drop the keys and they fall into the ignition, then as you flail around trying to get out, you accidentally operate the gas pedal and wheel. Happens all the time - ask any officer of the law :)

4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

I hear you.
    You gotta really mess up and do things you're not supposed to in order to remove cydia.
    Its not just a simple click and oops it went away.

5. bruinsrme macrumors 601

bruinsrme

6. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

ZCherub

Yep - on a serious note, though, can OP just run RedSn0w and "install Cydia" at the JB screen? I've never had to do it, so I'm a bit curious (from a technical standpoint - not that I ever plan on having to test it out, lol).

7. bruinsrme macrumors 601

bruinsrme

i have had to rejailbreak phones having addicentally deleting required files while SSHing. as long as the iOS was intact there shouldn't be any issue.

However if you reset all settings you may run into some issues.

8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

I dont think so for the 4S.