Account Rebuilding Question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Kaizen123, Mar 12, 2012.

1. Kaizen123 macrumors newbie

Hello! I'm a new Mac technician and have been working at an Apple Authorized Repair Center for less than 3 months; just got my ACMT and ACTC certs as well.

This is my first post here as I don't really know where else to ask. The guys I work with aren't all that helpful and take the "difficult" work from me without bothering to give me a clue as to what they are doing to fix the machine.

Anyway.... There was an issue that stumped me the other day and I really want to know how to fix it:

A customer brought in a Power Mac G4 running 10.4.11. They mentioned that they had bought the computer from someone else and, after buying it, changed the short name on the admin account so that it has their name. I told them the short name should never be changed, but what's done is done...

They brought it to us because they forgot the admin password and wanted me to reset it. I used a Tiger installation disc to do the admin password reset (and no, I didn't reset the root account.) After the reset, I rebooted the computer and the admin account was gone from the log-in screen. It automatically logged in to their daughter's managed account. I went into System Preferences to the User section and the Sys Pref sceen acted strangely. It said "Loading Accounts..." at the top of the window. When I clicked again, it went blank. In the Finder window I checked to make sure the admin and managed account home folders were at least still on the system and they were. This is only the beginning of the troubles...