Account set up on new MBP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Texas_Toast, Oct 19, 2016.

  1. Texas_Toast macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    On my new MBP, I want to have an Admin account and a Standard account.

    When I first turn on my new MBP, which account should I set up first?

    Presumably, I would want to create the Admin account first, right?

    (I have notes from when I set up my current MBP, but they aren't as clear as they should be.)

    Thanks.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    When you first turn on your Mac, you don't have a choice. It'll be an admin account.

    Once that's set up, you can create a secondary standard account. Let me know if you have any queries. :)
     
  3. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I think my confusion comes from my notes telling me to set up account #1 and then create account #2 and then make account #1 a Standard user and account #2 an Admin user.

    That is what my notes said - maybe because I didn't think to create a Standard user at the time?

    So I can create Texas_2 during startup and it will be an Admin account, right?

    And then I can create Texas_1 as a Standard account, right?
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Yep, 100% right!
     
  5. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    That was easy! :)
     

Share This Page