Accounts ???

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mickd, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. mickd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #1
    When I go to system preferences "Accounts" is not there. "My Account" is there but I cannot add new accounts with it. How do I get to "Accounts"?

    Thanks
    mick
     
  2. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    click the lock on the corner and put the admin password in then you can add accounts
     
  3. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Sounds like you're possibly a restricted user.

    Or.. you're authenticating against and Open Direcrtory and you have restricted access to the System Preferences.

    Or, you're using a very old version of the OS.

    How about showing us a Screen Shot of your System Preferences?
     
  5. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #5
    I am the administrator.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    You have a very old version of Mac OS X.
    In your version, "My Accounts" is where you create new accounts.

    That's Jaguar isn't it? 10.2?
     
  7. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #7
    As stated in 1st post 10.2.8. All info I have been able to find including "The Missing Manual" for Jaguar says that there should be an "ACCOUNTS" in the system preferences. There is no way to add an account from "My Account".

    In the system library/PreferencePanes there is an Accounts.prefPanes but it doesn't seem to do anything when double clicked. It may be damaged. I guess I'll try Pacifist to re-install that pane from the OS disk. I hope it works.

    Mick
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Uhhh. no... This is the first time you've mentioned it. ;)

    And why not show us a screen cap of what is displayed when you click "My Account"?
     
  9. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #9
    Sorry about that! I usually start with the OS...guess I was so frustrated I forgot.

    Attached is the My Accounts shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    And you're sure you're an admin?
    Your username is "admin", but that doesn't mean you're an admin.

    Open Terminal.app and type:

    id

    Hit return and post the results.
     
  11. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #11
    thanks mick
     

    Attached Files:

  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  13. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #13
    Attached is the attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Man, I dunno.
    Permissions Repair? I can't see how that would effect it at all.. but..

    diskutil repairpermissions /
     
  15. mickd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #15
    I did permissions repair and it didn't change anything. I looked on another computer running the same OS the functioned correctly and looked at the Accounts.prefsPanes and the contents are different. I checked my installation disk and the contents are the same as I have. The installation disk is OS 10. Both computers have been updated to OS10.2.8. I tried to copy the Accounts.prefsPanes folder from the other computer tand place it into the systems PreferencesPanes folder and it would not let me do it "Folder can not be moved because PreferencePanes can not be modified". Any way to update again?

    Mick
     
  16. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #16
    sounds like you might have to reinstall...
     

Share This Page