ACD 30" on a PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by adevejian, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. adevejian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Thinking about heading over to the mac store today to purchase a 30" for my custom pc dual 2.4ghz 4gb ram Winxp64. will the display function properly? thanks for any help.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    The specs you gave are exactly the wrong ones. We need to know about your graphics card.
     
  3. adevejian thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I realized that after i posted. Its an nVidia geforce 4800.
     
  4. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #4
    I assume you mean 8400, Then all you need to know is if it is Dual-Link DVI.
     
  5. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    It should work, although you'll be pushing the outer limits of such a low-end card for any serious 3D graphics use. If it's mainly for 2D apps it should provide at least acceptable performance.
     
  6. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #6
    After checking Nvidia's site it appears the 8400 only has Single-Link DVI so sorry your out of luck unless you only want to run it at 1280 x 800
     
  7. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #7
    Really? Most 8400GS (as opposed to mobile 8400) cards should have Dual-Link. Perhaps if the OP posted the make we could help more.
     
  8. adevejian thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    i'm sorry the card i have is a geforce 6600 GT. was away from the computer and made a shoddy guess.
     
  9. CharlieKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #9
    Max res that thing'll run it with is 1900x1200.
     
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006

Share This Page