ACD Acrylic USB ports not being detected

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 128keaton, Sep 17, 2015.

  1. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    Hello. I bought a mint (like in box, no scratches at ALL) and hooked it up to my QS with a 4MX. The USB ports aren't detected. I've tried PRAM reset, removal and reinsertion, etc. Any ideas?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Try using it with a different Mac or even a different video card. USB works over a specific pin on the ADC connector/cable and sometimes as the cards age the ports start to wear out. I had a FX5200 cause similar issues with ADC displays.
     
  3. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    I'll see if my other 4MX will cooperate with me.
     
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    I had a 17" ADC that had the exact problem you describe across several different computers and several different cards in that same computer. The USB was completely dead-the hub didn't show up in System Profiler.

    This really is an issue, as dead USB ports almost invariable also come with a loss in ability to control display brightness.

    Also, in my case, I couldn't boot into OS 9 with the display connected.

    Mine just started working one day, and have works fine since.

    I wish I could offer you a more informative answer than that.
     
  5. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    Interesting. I'd offer to take mine apart to see if its a loose connection or whatnot, but I'd like to preserve it :)
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Keaton. Shut your Mac down and disconnect the ADC cable.

    Take a very, very good look at the pins on the connector. You are looking for bent or misaligned pins. If you find one, straighten it. Then carefully reconnect the cable.

    One of the displays I have had this issue when I first got it. Since I don't normally use the USB ports on the displays I didn't notice this was a problem until I tried to use one. The display was working fine otherwise.

    It turns out that after inspecting the pins I found one that was bent. I straightened it and carefully reconnected the cable. My USB ports were immediately recognized.
     
  7. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #7
    Erik to the rescue, again!
    I just last week received two 17" ADC monitors in a package deal with two MDD's.
    I'm not actively using them but did check them on arrival. Both of them had non-functioning USB ports, but at the time I was not inclined to delve any deeper into the issue.
    After reading your post above I checked the connectors of each monitor and they each had a bent pin, in fact the same pin was bent on both connectors.
    I'm not set up to test them at present but I'd wager that there is a very good likely-hood that they'll work.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Yeah, the problem with the bent pin I had on mine was that it was jamming into the same hole as one of the other pins and not in the hole it was supposed to go into. Hence no USB.

    It's important when you connect/disconnect the display to make sure you are pressing on the two buttons to the side firmly, then to pull out or push in the connector straight. Don't wiggle, don't let one side go in or out first.

    I think this might also be one of the reasons the ADC connector never caught on. At least with a DVI port the pins are bigger and more robust.
     
  9. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    Bummer. That's what it was for me. Hoped it was something that simple for you, but it appears not.
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  12. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #12
    With a Rage128 and my other 4MX
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13
    Try a different computer as well. To my knowledge, the ADC monitors must connect to the internal USB bus.
     
  14. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #14
    I'll try my Cube. That's the only other computer I have with an ADC port.
     

Share This Page