ACD Power Supply for abroad

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rontheancient, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. rontheancient macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I have a friend who will be moving to HK in a few months. Does anyone know if he can just use a travel adapter to plug in his US ACD, or will he need to purchase the power cord/supply specific for HK?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    He should find "a broad" that doesn't need a power adapter! :D (sorry, bad joke!)

    He should be fine using a travel adapter.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    The power supplies are already rated for 120/240, so all he'll need is a plug adapter.
     
  4. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #4
    From experience, just remind him to plug the ACD into the adapter before he plugs the adapter into the wall... lest a large frightening spark occur.
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    Just a HK outlet to Computer/Electronics Power Cable should work just fine. If by chance he is in a place in HK using Chinese/Japanese/North American power sockets, everything should JUST WORK. Although he may need a 3 prong to two prong adapter. They may be using the North American Style, The UK Style, the South Africa Style, or a 3-prong variant of the Australian connector.

    TEG
     
  6. rontheancient thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    USA

Share This Page