Acer B326HK 4k display and 60Hz

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by vip007, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. vip007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    #1
    I recently purchased an Acer 32" 4k B326HK display for Macbook Pro early 2013 (retina, Nvidia GT650M, 10.10.1). Very nice monitor, but connected via mini DP or DP the 4k mode only works in 30Hz. The display is capable of 60Hz at 4k.

    Does anyone use this display with Mac hardware? I could not find much or any evidence of it.

    It seems like it may not be correctly detected by OSX. Interestingly, Display tab of System Information reports the wrong monitor display physical size and resolution, System Report though shows 3840 x 2160 @ 30 Hz and there is no option for 60Hz. I tried connecting using HDMI, there it showed the 60Hz at 4k option but nothing would show on the monitor itself.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I am thinking about tinkering with SwitchResX and create a custom resolution. But before this "dangerous" game I wanted to see if someone has actually figured this out.
     
  2. aviduser2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #2
    You have to go into the monitors menu and enable dp 1.2 to be able to get 60hz.

    Edit: I'm not sure if the early 2013 model is able to support 4k/60hz. I think the earliest mbp that support it is the late 2013 15".
     
  3. vmacrob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #3
    The early 2013 model is Thunderbolt, not Thunderbolt 2, and support only an older version of DisplayPort (1.1a). This means that the best you'll get is 4k @ 30hz - it just doesn't have the necessary bandwidth to do any better.
     
  4. vip007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    #4
    Well, that explains it.

    The official Apple specs official specs (or the 4k support page) are not entirely clear/correct because early 2013 MBP *can* run 4k, just not at 60Hz. Limiting factor is DP1.1 (ie, Thunderbolt 1's) 10Gbit/s limit, whereas 4k @ 60Hz needs about 16-17Gbit/s.

    I guess the Acer will now have to go back to store or ebay :(
     
  5. bootz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #5
    Does this monitor have a PBP (picture by picture mode)? If so, you should be able to use two inputs on the monitor and output two 1920x1080 60hz signals which when used in PBP mode would create a full resolution 60hz display.

    There are some limitations to using this method, but it has been discussed here in the past. Just search for mid-2012 rMBP 4k 60hz. Not a perfect solution, but probably better than losing hundreds of dollars selling it on eBay.
     
  6. rogercoathup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #6
    3840 x 2160 @ 60Hz

    Took delivery of B326HK this week -- am getting 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz.

    Worked first time with Startech mini-dp to dp cable (hadn't worked with standard thunderbolt cable), defaulting to full resolution 'Best for display'.

    Machine is MBP Retina 15" mid-2014 (bought December from Apple).
     

    Attached Files:

  7. PeteTpe, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015

    PeteTpe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    Taipei
    #7
    I just had the Acer B326HK display delivered. It came with DVI, USB3, HDMI and displayport cables and an installation guide. None of these cables delivered 3840x2160@60Hz. The HDMI cable would deliver only a 30Hz refresh rate and was very slow to wake from sleep mode.

    Downloading the user manual from Acer, I could read (page 8) that only displayport and mini DP would deliver 3840x2160@60Hz. Unfortunately there was no mini DP cable so I had to order one separately. I actually got a mini DP to displayport cable. The mini DP end fits in my (mid 2014) macbook's thunderbolt port. I now have 3840x2160@60Hz and the monitor wakes from sleep about 2-3 secs after my macbook's display.

    The display works well and is much cheaper than the other options for 32". Acer would be wise to tell people in the installation guide that only the DP and mini-DP cables give maximum resolution as (if like me), most people would also expect to get that from an HDMI cable.

    User manual is attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. mvargasmoran macrumors newbie

    mvargasmoran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    #8
    I have a Late 2013 rMacbook Pro, but only with the Iris, Can I buy this monitor plug it and be happy coding at that res and 60Hz???
    also, Can I use scaling to make it a bit more sharper?

    Thanks in advance.

    Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 7.56.52 PM.png
     

Share This Page