Acrobat Pro XI-can not double click to open files

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Reesche, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. Reesche, Apr 22, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2014

    Reesche macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #1
    I installed Acrobat Pro XI MAC (v. 11.0.06) reciently and I am noticing that I can NOT double click on a PDF icon and open it as I did for years.

    Now you have to open Acrobat and get that darn start-up screen and navigate to where the PDF is that you are looking to open. I really do not like this since most of the time I use to just double click to open a PDF.

    There are a lot of people complaining about this on the internet now. Is there anything I can do to make this operate the way that I want it to? No Start-Up screen and be able to just double click on a PDF file and open it?

    Thank You!
     
  2. mrothen828 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #2
    Double-Click PDF

    I am having the same issue. I installed XI on two computers. On one, it works perfectly, while on another, it's unable to open files with the double-click. I've tried everything.. any answers?
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    1. In the Finder, single-click any .pdf file.
    2. Select the File/Get Info dialog box. You may also press [cmd]+[i].
    3. Click the Open with: popup menu.
    4. Select Adobe Acrobat XI or whichever application you desire.
    5. Click the Change All... button.
     
  4. mrothen828 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #4
    Acrobat PDF

    Appreciate your response, but I did try that and the "open with" link is established. What happens is that when I double-click it "activates" Acrobat, but only stays on the log-in screen. Additionally, Acrobat won't close windows from clicking on the red dot and instead needs to close from the menu. It's as if all functionality needs to be done from the menus. Remains a mystery for me...
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Now you have confused me:
    • What do you mean by "activates"?
    • Which login screen?
     
  6. mrothen828 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #6
    When I double-click on a PDF file it goes to the welcome screen, but does not open the actual file. I'm only able to open files via the Open command. Additionally, I cannot quit with the cmd-Q keys, and instead have to use the pull-down menus.
     
  7. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    It sounds like you have somehow buggered Launch Services on your system. Is Adobe Acrobat XI Pro the only application that shows this problem on the affected computer?
     
  8. mrothen828 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #8
    Yes, it's exclusive to Acrobat XI. I've tried to rebuild the launch services to no avail. The only thing I can think of is that there are remnants of old version of Acrobat still on the hard drive somewhere and that could be interfering with it. Otherwise, I'm at a loss.
     
  9. MisterMe, Sep 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2015

    MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Remnants of an older version of Acrobat Pro will not and cannot cause the problem that you describe--not even on Windows. Lacking evidence to the contrary, I suspect an "innovative" attempt to install components of Acrobat Pro XI.
     
  10. PeteHod, Jan 6, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2015

    PeteHod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    #10
    I share the same issue with you... Can't close the Acrobat X Pro splash screen as the red 'X' close button will not activate and can't double click to open any pdf file.
    I can do as was advised and changed info settings for all .pdf files to open in the humble Reader program. However this is not a solution for the more powerful X Pro program.

    I upgraded to Yosemite and Adobe CS6 at the same time so not sure which is the culprit!
    Would love to know if anyone has a solution for this.
     
  11. Silencio macrumors 68020

    Silencio

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    I've had the same problem on a few installs of Acrobat Pro X.

    The only solution I've found that really works is to uninstall and reinstall the program. Lame!
     

Share This Page