Activate an iPhone 2

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MacLilja, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. MacLilja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #1
    I hope I post this one right. I want to activate an iPhone 2 but iTunes don't recognize it and the phone says that I need to connect it to iTunes. Any ideas? I have installed iTunes 7.5.
     
  2. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #2
    There's no such thing as an "iPhone 2". That might be the first problem...

    C
     
  3. MacLilja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #3
    OK, it's the first version of iPhone. It was called iPhone when it was released and then iPhone 2G when the 3 came.
     
  4. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #4
    There was an iPhone, then an iPhone 3G, then a 3Gs.

    So it's an original iPhone?

    C
     
  5. MacLilja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #5
    Yes. And now I have a newer cabel and now iTunes finds it but it says it won't support the sim that I have in it. Not sure why. It dosn't have a pin.
     
  6. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #6
    What kind of SIM is it (which provider)? Does it work in other phones?

    C
     
  7. MacLilja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #7
    It is. It's the kind of card that you put Money in. Not one that you pay a monthley fee for. Not sure what the English term for it is since I live in Sweden.
     
  8. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #8
    What's the history on the phone? Did it use to work for you, using the same service? Could it be locked to a particular provider?

    C
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    So in other words the particular iPhone is not unlocked and doesn't support your carrier.
    It's locked to some other carrier.
     
  10. MacLilja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #10
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Its been over 5 years since I last did it but if I remember correct you have to point redsnow to the 3.1.2 ipsw instead.
    And then the rest will work and you can go on with hactivating and unlocking it using redsnow.
    You can find any .ipsw here:
    https://ipsw.me/
     
  12. MacLilja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #12
    I found a way to get it unlocked. Now I just have to downgrade it to IOS 1.0 :)
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  14. Totally macrumors 6502a

    Totally

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Location:
    West Coast = Best Coast
    #14
    I think this is going to prove much harder to do than you think. But if you get it, you should definitely let us (or at least me) know :) haha
     

Share This Page