Activate iPhone locked to O2-UK with payg SIM?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by crossharu, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. crossharu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm new to this forum so sorry if I say anything stupid :)

    I have an iPhone 3GS locked to O2-UK that I want to activate officially on iOS 5 rather than with Hacktivate.

    I've already tried to use SAM from Cydia to do this, but it always tells me that the SIM I use isn't supported :confused:

    I then decided to get myself an O2-UK PAYG SIM that I can use to activate the phone then jailbreak and unlock it.

    However, I get the unsupported SIM message everytime :(

    Any help please?
     
  2. Greg. macrumors 6502

    Greg.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Were you on the 06.15.00 baseband before and then upgraded to iOS 5 with stock firmware via iTunes?
     
  3. crossharu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #3
    Well I thought I preserved baseband with Sn0wbreeze :)

    Should I try reflashing 06.15.00?
     
  4. Greg. macrumors 6502

    Greg.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Are you stuck on the welcome to iOS 5 screen? Where you can choose your language, but then can't go any further? And iTunes says there is no SIM installed?
     
  5. crossharu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #5
    Nope, I am stuck on the welcome screen yes, but I have signal using my O2-UK SIM card and it says that the SIM is not supported :/

    Btw thanks very much for your help :) :)
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Are you sure its locked to 02-UK cause any of its PAYG sims would activate it officially.
     
  7. crossharu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #7
    Well the thingy code is MC131B which I looked up and it says O2-UK. And I get signal on it without using Ultrasn0w so that should mean its locked to them
     
  8. crossharu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #8
    Actually I think I was mistaken :/ I'm not getting any signal with the O2 sim without Ultrasn0w
     
  9. Greg., Nov 9, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011

    Greg. macrumors 6502

    Greg.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Yeah sounds like you need to reflash your baseband. Basically follow what the Dev Team say in their latest post:

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

    Basically along the lines of:

    1. Go grab the latest redsn0w
    2. Go to Extras and point it at Apple's stock .ipsw for iOS 5
    3. Go back to the main menu and start the jailbreak option
    4. At the tickbox screen, tick 'Install iPad baseband' and 'Deactivate'
    5. Follow the instructions to put your phone into DFU mode
    6. Proceed and let redsn0w do the rest

    Once the process finishes, your SIM should be working finally and your carrier recognised. If you haven't already activated iOS5, it should become possible to do so now.

    Or just watch this!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNK_ZXqF6r0


    Let me know how you get on.
     
  10. crossharu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #10
    Thanks very much for your reply. I may do it in the future if I can't get my push notifications working properly.

    However, I tried to use SAM again as I was getting desperate and weirdly, it worked :) it now says its activated so I'll see how it goes

    Thanks for all your help!!
     

Share This Page