Activate new AT&T iPhone upgrade?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mooty, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. mooty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi

    I have an iPhone 5S and have upgraded via AT&T to the iPhone 6. Sim card came already in the device. Turned it on and synced with iTunes, all good.

    Problem is, the iPhone 6 has "No Service" for cellular and my old iPhone 5S has retained the service.

    Do I need to activate the iPhone 6? Nothing came with the phone to suggest I needed to do anything. I tried https://www.wireless.att.com/activations/ but get a "Gateway Timeout" every time...

    Any ideas?
     
  2. dcharleyultra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
  3. moldy lunchbox macrumors 6502a

    moldy lunchbox

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #3
    It would take a lot less time to switch the sim card from the 5S to the 6 versus writing the entire topic you wrote.
     
  4. mooty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    So I should remove the SIM that came with the device? Whats the point in the SIM card coming with the iPhone 6?
     
  5. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #5
    the phone setup should have had an activation step on it
     
  6. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #6
  7. andyw715 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #7
    This was the first things that came up when I turned on my 6+, after that I had service on the 6+ and No Service on the 5s. Only took 5 min.
     
  8. JeepGC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
  9. mooty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Had to call AT&T on 800.331.0500

    automated system activated the phone. The website seems to be broken, at least for me - I always get a BAD GATEWAY error.
     

Share This Page