Activate or Hacktivate?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by broadsword, Nov 11, 2010.

1. broadsword macrumors newbie

Hey you all-knowing people!

I’m new to the iPhone. In fact, I haven’t bought one yet. I understand the jailbreak and unlock process but I’m hard put to figure out the activation thing. Here’s my situation:

I’m going to be traveling extensively in Europe for the next eight months and I will be purchasing local Pay as You Go plans in each country I visit. I will be coming back to the US a hand full of times during this period and will then use the AT&T Pay as You Go plan.

For this I’m buying a brand new iPhone 4 from a buddy who has an AT&T plan. I’m going to jailbreak it and unlock it before I leave the US but how do I best deal with the activation?

1. Should I activate it with my buddy’s sim card and AT&T account? Or
    2. Should I hacktivate it?
    3. If I activate with my buddy’s sim, will the phone then be registered to him?
    4. Will activating with my buddy's sim preserve Apple's warranty?
    5. Is the activation permanent or can the phone be reset to unactivated at some point? For example: Will a restore also deactivate the phone?

I need to make sure it all works flawlessly so I don’t get screwed while on the road.

Thanks for your input.

2. CryingElectron macrumors newbie

1. Should I activate it with my buddy’s sim card and AT&T account?
    A) You Can.

2. Should I hacktivate it?
    A) You Can.

3. If I activate with my buddy’s sim, will the phone then be registered to him? A) No.

4. Will activating with my buddy's sim preserve Apple's warranty?
    A) Yes.

5. Is the activation permanent or can the phone be reset to unactivated at some point? For example: Will a restore also deactivate the phone?
    A) If you updated or reinstalled the firmware, you need to go through activation process again.

3. broadsword thread starter macrumors newbie