Activate or SIM Swap

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MattBroderick24, Nov 2, 2017.

  1. MattBroderick24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Location:
    North, NJ
    #1
    I ordered a full price Verizon iPhone X And created a new Verizon account that I do not intent to use. Should I activate with the Verizon SIM then cancel service? Don’t active the Verizon SIM and simply swap in my AT&T SIM before I do initial boot?
     
  2. planetgirth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2
    I am curious also, what is the difference? If i take my SIM out of my iPhone 6 and put in the new one what will happen? will I be able to make calls, text, surf?

    I have AT&T if that matters.

    Thanks
     
  3. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #3
    Hey @planetgirth if you reuse your existing active AT&T SIM, you will not have to wait for the AT&T servers to provision the new SIM. In addition, you will save the upgrade fee by reusing your existing SIM.

    Dave
     
  4. planetgirth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #4
    So, I have a new X coming tomorrow, what are the positives and negatives to doing this compared to activating it as normal? Would I gain anything by getting a new SIM? Do I need to include the SIM if I try to sell to a 3rd party site like Gazelle?
     
  5. jfreak623 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #5
    so if i use my old sim, ATT won't charge me upgrade fee? I thought they do that anyway since they know I bought a new phone on Next.
     
  6. planetgirth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #6
    Doesn't the new phone come with a SIM? What would be the point of using the old SIM if they still make you pay an upgrade fee?
     
  7. Patrick G macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #7
    Does AT&T not do like Verizon and base the upgrade fee on the device instead of the SIM?
     
  8. MattBroderick24 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Location:
    North, NJ
    #8
    Nothing. I think the phone needs to be activated with the sim that comes in box.
     

Share This Page

7 November 2, 2017