Activating iMessage in Australia

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by rayjay86, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. rayjay86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    So I apologize if at some points I am vague but this is a very new thing for me.

    I recently relocated to Australia. Popped in an Optus prepay card into my Apple-unlocked iPhone 4S and worked well for two months. Recently I have switched to Amaysim, they still use the Optus network but have different packages (e.g. unlim data, text, etc. etc.).

    Anyways I noticed recently that all my iMessages were going out with my email as the caller id. My personal email is the email I use for iMessage so I didn't like this (I had originally set it up so I could see convos on my iPad).

    When I go in to change it I see "waiting for activation" and my phone number perpetually in 'verifying" under settings. FaceTime get an error as well.

    One thing I have noticed is that when I turn on/off iMessage to try and restart it, I get a message from my carrier saying "A message you have tried to send failed because you do not have enough credit for that type".
    I have unlimited messaging in Australia so the only type of message I cannot send are international. Should I try adding credit so that whatever signal my phone is sending can go through or is this totally separate.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
  3. coolparty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #3
    same here

    I've done exactly the same as you. Moved to OZ from the UK, started with Optus and switched to Amaysim after a month as it's cheaper.

    I get the 'Waiting for activation....' and the SMS from the carier about credit.

    After about 20 calls to Amaysim I still have no luck.

    Any joy with yours now??
     
  4. AnonMac50 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #4
    The problem is that it needs credit for international messages.
     
  5. rayjay86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #5
    Exactly. As soon as I added credit for international calling the activation went through right away. I think any kind of international communication is probably blocked with Amaysim.
     
  6. coolparty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #6
    yesssssss! That's it. It's working for me now after 2 months of outage. The top up trick worked a treat, cheers dudes.
     
  7. Globug macrumors 6502

    Globug

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    #7
    Does this mean that everytime i want to use imessege its going to cost international fees or is this a 1off thing just to verify?:confused::eek:

    I'm moving to sydney in january and am planning on using amayasim too.
     
  8. rayjay86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #8
    Looks like one-off far as I could tell. If you even keep a few cents in the account (if you topped up and then used the credit till just before 0.00) it should still work. As long as you have credit is it able to communicate internationally. It's not actually sending an international call or message, you won't see a reduction in your prepaid credit but I'm pretty sure amaysim blocks all international communication. You can still iMessage but it won't be "verified" on your phone and as such you won't be able to change your caller ID from iTunes account to phone number (and vice versa). It'll stay with whatever the last setting it had when your phone talked to Apple servers.
     

Share This Page