Activating problem on Verizon

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ronm99, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. ronm99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    #1
    I just received my iPhone 6+, and I'm trying to get the SIM card registered so I can use my phone.

    In the past, I thought it was all done automatically, but it is not working. My new phone will not register on the network.

    The instructions that came with the phone said to call some automated system to register. I did that, entered my numbers, and then it told me to dial *228 on my phone and press option 1.

    When I dial *228 on the phone, it says "that number is not allowed".

    Is anyone else having trouble getting their new phone's SIM card registered?
     
  2. boxermansr macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #2
    *228 doesn't work on LTE devices. Your best bet is to login to the Verizon website and see if you can activate it there. If not you may have to either try chatting with them on their website (if you don't have another phone to call them from), or call them.
     
  3. mbhforum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Activating problem on Verizon

    I had a nightmare today too with a new line, new account. First the number they assigned me wasn't good since I called it and someone else answered. Then it finally activated and I got some Michigan number (I live in NY) and I started receiving text messages from strangers!! On the phone with Verizon, they told me 2 phones were put in the system with identical ESN numbers and I would have to get a new phone. I flipped out bc all of the Verizon stores are out of stock but I knew she was full of it. Once I put in my iPhone 5s sim from my business line in there it was working, Anyway, went to Verizon store at 4pm and they gave me a new SIM card and phone # and all is well now. They had some Gold 6's in stock, what a difference a year makes...
     
  4. ronm99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    #4
    Thanks!

    I was able to log onto the website and supposedly switch devices. However, it still says that my phone is not activated and told me to call customer service. Now I am on hold with customer service. Sigh!

    ----------

    Sorry to hear about your issues, but I'm glad that you finally got it working.

    I'm now on hold with customer support ... I wonder how many hours I'll have to wait? :eek:
     
  5. mbhforum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    Thanks. I spoke to 3 different people on the phone. In the store was much easier and efficient.
     
  6. NT5.2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    #6
    I had the same problem as well and I had to switch the sim card from my iPhone 5 into the 6.
     
  7. mkflyfish macrumors member

    mkflyfish

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #7
    On hold now, same thing, new line that hasn't been added to account, won't activate, 4th person, 56minutes on hold

    ----------

    4th rep said they called Apple, and the number is set to activate tomorrow, and that I will just need to turn the phone off and on after midnight. Apple apparently didn't expect UPS to be so speedy.
     
  8. M87 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #8
    Went totally smooth for me. Took longer to find one of the 50 million "liquid metal" sim ejectors I have laying around than it did to swap sims and activate.
     
  9. Hornet9988 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    #9
    Verizon issues

    I was hoping I wouldn't be the only one with this issue. I pre-ordered the 6 for Verizon through Apple and it was delivered yesterday. When it arrived I fired it up and got to a prompt asking me for my billing zip and the last 4 of my SS. However when I enter the info, it tells me that "Verizon Wireless cannot verify my identity and I should call apple for help" So I call Apple (hold for 20 minutes) and I'm told that it's a Verizon issue and I shoupd call them. So I call VZW (hold for 30 minutes) and they try the basic trouble shooting (switching SIMs, recovery mode, sending activation signal) and this goes on for nearly 2 hours. Eventually they tell me that it's an issue on Apple's end. By now it's 11:00 and Apple's lines are closed. Will attempt to go to an Apple Store today (no appointments for Genius Bar available till Sunday). Anybody out there smart enough to help me out? Verizon seems to think that Apple sent me a phone that was supposed to go to someone else and won't activate for me, referring to it as DOA and telling me I'm SOL and will have to wait a few weeks for a replacement. I have the thing in my hand and I can't even get to the home screen to play with it
     
  10. Hornet9988 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    #10
    Follow up

    I got off the phone with an Apple rep this morning. She told me that there are other people having this issue, and that they will issue a software patch sometime today. This will be accessible through iTunes by connecting the phone hopefully. We shall see...
     
  11. amv1017 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #11
    I had issues yesterday too....my iPhone 6 business line was still showing my 5c on my Verizon page and volte wasnt activating...and my second line iPhone 6 plus wouldn't activate out of the box. Took me two attempts to get a tech support rep to fix my issues for the most part. One rep told me to wait until Monday for everything to update. He sounded like he didn't want to be at work!!

    Verizons systems are all screwed up....6 + works but my Verizon online says it still needs to be activated.
     
  12. mkflyfish macrumors member

    mkflyfish

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #12
    Waiting until today hasn't worked, thinking of going to verizon.
     
  13. dealgirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #13
    Did you get it activated or had to return the phone?
     
  14. mkflyfish macrumors member

    mkflyfish

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #14
    I went to verizon store and they gave me a new SIM card, Verizon confirmed that apple had set the original SIM card to be activated several days later than I received the phone. I guess they thought Fedex was slower to Kansas.
     
  15. iHeartsteve macrumors 65816

    iHeartsteve

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #15
    When I got my new 6+ in the mail, I tried using my old SIM card as well and it didn't work. I called verizon customer service and gave them the IMEI number and the SIM card it came with and they activated it over the phone. No need to go in the store.
     

Share This Page