Activating Win XP Home OEM on Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by VisionVek, Nov 28, 2007.

1. VisionVek macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum and I have read and reread many posts on this topic and I wanted to find out if I can get clarification.

I just bought a MacBook Pro and I used Boot Camp to set up a windows partition. I used the OEM Win XP Home disc and couldn't activate, because (as I found out from here) I can only use the copy on the original hardware it came with.

I read in one place (on this site) that I can call MS or use the phone activation line to get a new key by telling them that I reformatted my hard drive and the copy is still on the same computer. But, I read that this only applies to the retail copy, not the OEM copies. So, for anyone that can help, my questions are:

-Can I get a new key with an OEM copy by telling them I reformatted my HD?
    -If I get a new copy, does it invalidate the key on my PC (which has the original key assigned to it) and cause it to become inactive?

Any help will be appreciated.

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Call Microsoft at the number provided and don't lie to them. You may get lucky, but don't expect this to work as it is clearly NOT in the spirit of the EULA you accepted when installing the OEM version, as it explicitly does NOT grant you transfer rights, and it deflintely doesn't grant you the right to use this copy of XP on both the PC and Mac at the same time.

Microsoft is free to grant you extra rights when you talk to them on the phone, but don't count on it...

B

3. pelorick macrumors newbie

I bought an OEM version of Vista Home Prem. from newegg, but it ended up not working. Apple said it has to be a retail version in order to work (especially w/o any work arounds). I was able to convince them to credit me for the OEM and I bought the retail version from them. The install was fine and Vista is up and running.