Activation error 7.1b3

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by virginblue4, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. virginblue4 macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I have iOS 7.1 beta 3 installed on a couple of devices. I went to install it on my girlfriends iPad 3, just to speed it up a little and somehow I've mucked it up.

    I added its UDID onto the iOS developer device page just as I have with all of my other devices but after installing beta 3, it just keeps saying activation error and telling me to register the device in the iOS developer portal. I've disabled the device and added it again, but still keep getting the same message.

    Can't even do a restore because as soon as I plug it into iTunes, it comes up with the same as the iPad.

    Any help? As you can imagine, I'm in the dog house! :eek:
     
  2. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Not sure why it's doing that, but I've had some issues with activations lately. You can always restore in iTunes via DFU restore. That will at least let you restore to 7.0.4.
     
  3. virginblue4 thread starter macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Well that's what I thought I could do. But not sure how, as soon as I choose my device in iTunes, all I can see is activation error. I can't bypass this screen on either the mac or the iPad.... :confused:
     
  4. as11ley macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  5. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    When it's plugged in, just hold the power+home button until your computer prompts a restore. That's not the official way of doing a DFU, but it works. Trust me, I've done my fair share in the past month.
     
  6. virginblue4 thread starter macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Brilliant, thanks for your help! I have done a DFU restore before but can't quite remember, it was over a year ago! As I'm not with her at the moment, I'm going to have to relay the instructions to her. So after doing that, how do I do the restore?
     
  7. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    It should ask if you want to restore to the latest available iOS (7.0.4) and then just hit restore. It'll download the whole OS, so it takes a little bit of time.

    Other than that, you should be in good shape!
     
  8. virginblue4 thread starter macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    So it's literally just pressing the buttons together? No alt click to restore at all?
     
  9. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    Yep. Once you see the prompt, just begin the restore. You can always try again to update to 7.1 beta with 'alt+restore'.
     
  10. virginblue4 thread starter macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Just realised, without sounding stupid, I actually held the power and home butting while it was plugged in and it just did a hard reset... :(

    ----------

    Nope, did it while it wasn't plugged in that's why it reset! All done and is restoring now. Thank you very much for your help, I really appreciate it! :D
     
  11. marcococo macrumors regular

    marcococo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #11
    I'm having the same issue! And my iPhone is definitely registered on my dev account!
     
  12. MrMetro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #12
    New Swapped 5s - activation error

    Me too.

    Just got my 5s swapped under warranty, added new device ID to my dev account and its telling me activation error.

    Perhaps provisioning delay??
     
  13. Tmelon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #13
    Identical issue. Got my replacement 5s and it refuses to activate with the beta. Hopefully this issue will be sorted out quickly.
     
  14. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #14
    Might you have to register your new UDID?
     

Share This Page