Activation Error

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mikakoenig, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. mikakoenig macrumors newbie

    mikakoenig

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #1
    Hi, last night I got my new iPhone 5s in the mail and today I got a new sim card for it. I can't pass the activation because of an activation error? I'm not sure if the servers are down. I did call Apple and the lady told me to wait an hour or so.

    Has this ever happened to you? This is my first Apple product and I can't wait to use it!
     
  2. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
  3. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #3
    Is the SIM card activated? I'm pretty sure it has to be activated beforehand for it to connect to the activation servers. You could also use the SIM that came with the phone as I think that one allows you to activate, but doesn't give you service.
     
  4. mikakoenig thread starter macrumors newbie

    mikakoenig

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #4
    Yeah the SIM is activated. The guy at T-Mobile scanned it and everything. I see the little filled in dots. I connected to my WiFi too. The phone didn't come with a SIM card! :(
     
  5. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #5
    Try plugging it into iTunes and setting it up that way.
     
  6. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #6
    Is your new iPhone unlocked or is it a T-Mobile iPhone 5S?
     
  7. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #7
    It might be SIM free as it didn't come with a SIM
     
  8. mikakoenig thread starter macrumors newbie

    mikakoenig

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #8
    I just did it right now and I got this message,
    "We are unable to complete your activation at this time.
    Please disconnect your iPhone from your computer and reconnect it later and we should be able to activate it. We apologize for the inconvenience this causes."

    I'm not sure how long I should wait. D:
     
  9. mikakoenig thread starter macrumors newbie

    mikakoenig

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #9
    I bought it GSM unlocked because I wasn't so sure which one I should buy!
     
  10. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #10
    I would call Apple Support. The wait isn't too long and they'll be able to help you more than we can.
     
  11. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #11
    Connect it to iTunes as mentioned above and try again.
     
  12. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #12
    Thats what he did
     
  13. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #13
    True. That would still be unlocked, though.
     
  14. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #14
    Unlocked is the same thing as SIM free. Unless you were referring to a carrier phone bought at full price.
     
  15. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #15
    Sorry, I didn't read the post that was quoted first. :oops:
     
  16. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #16
    That's why I liked the old vBulletin forums where two posts in a row from the same user would merge into a single post automatically.
     
  17. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #17
    To my knowledge, unlocked and Sim Free are not totally equal. There have been reports of Verizon not activating a carrier unlocked iPhone, while they have activated a Sim Free model. I realize though that T-Mobile will activate other carrier unlocked devices on their network.
     
  18. mikakoenig thread starter macrumors newbie

    mikakoenig

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #18
    Called Apple support and was told to do a system restore. The screen on the phone was on iTunes for awhile until it disappeared and the Hello screen popped up again and the activation error was still there. The software update isn't done yet so we'll see! I'm starting to become nervous now, ah.
     
  19. mikakoenig thread starter macrumors newbie

    mikakoenig

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #19
    Welp, tried the whole restoration thing and still activation error. Now I just have an expensive paperweight. So much for my first new Apple product! :)
     
  20. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #20
    Take it into Apple Store and return it if they can't fix it.
     
  21. andyw715 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #21
    Same thing happened to my wife's 6s last night (att)

    I just want on to att's activation page and did it from there.

    Everything worked fine except wifi calling. Apparently att's computers didn't update and thought she still had her 4s. A quick call to att fixed it up.
     
  22. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #22
    Why all the avoidance, call the carrier and get they to activate.
     

Share This Page