Activation fee?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by npolly0212, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. npolly0212 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #1
    if I were to purchase a new iPhone, unlocked and all that, will I be charged an activation fee if I just put my old SIM card from my old iPhone into it?
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    I doubt it. Would they charge you every time you swapped phones with your SIM card? I'm guessing the activation occurs if you get a new SIM card added to your account.
     
  3. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #3
    That's where I'm not sure. I hardly buy new phones. Being in college and broke lol.

    I'm thinking of selling my 6s+ and getting the iPhone se. Not a big fan of the size of my phone.

    Not sure if my option at Best Buy would hold me back from getting it though.

    I would buy the one I have selected:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #4
    It might help if you mention what carrier's service you have on your old SIM :confused:

    Dave
     
  5. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #5
    Sorry! I thought I did.

    I have AT&T service.

    Looking at getting an "inactivated device" through Best Buy so wasn't sure
     
  6. electronicsguy macrumors 6502a

    electronicsguy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #6
    activation fee is for a "line" of service, not the device. as long as you're using the same account, there'll not be another activation fee
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    I believe the activation fee comes in, if you buy a phone from them on the NEXT plan.
     
  8. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    I have switched SIM card on my ATT account many times and there is no activation fee.

    Generally stay out of the ATT stores as They are there to make money.
     
  9. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #9

    Thank you guys for the posts. That's how I thought it was done but never have been quite sure since I only ever get from att. I really appreciate the help
     
  10. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
  11. kpeex macrumors member

    kpeex

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    VBVA
    #11
    It looks like Best Buy is already charging an extra $51.00 from the Apple Store Price. An activation fee on top of that would be insult to injury.

    Maybe I'm missing something?

    Anyway, I have swapped AT&T SIMs on two Apple Store SIM Free devices "fee free" using the original micro-SIM from an AT&T iPhone 5.
     
  12. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #12
    That's good advice for ANY carrier!
     
  13. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #13
    haha thank you, I am still debating if I wanna do it or not. Leaning towards it but also still have the phone 7 coming soon..

    Best buy is always $50 more as long as I have ever looked there.
     

Share This Page