Activation going offline at 7PM PDT 7/14/2007 - Possible upgrade?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by zama36, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. zama36 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    #1
    Was in the Apple Alderwood store this afternoon and was told that activation was going offline from 7PM PDT today till sometime tomorrow.

    The Apple rep had no other information other than it would be offline until sometime tomorrow. Can't remember what time, though.

    Could mean that the activation app only will be upgraded or it could mean a software upgrade and Apple is giving themselves enough time for final testing and possible pulling of the update if problems arise prior to releasing to the world.

    Let's see what tomorrow means?:)
     
  2. sdm1130 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #2
    Grrr - I JUST went to restore my iPhone and heard nothing about this activation down time before starting the restore. When the restore completed, I was then informed that iTunes activations were offline until 3pm EDT on Sunday! So, I guess my iPhone will be offline waiting to be "reactivated" until then. How annoying...

    EDIT: To try and keep things OT (sorry for trying to hijack your thread!), I think this is probably just an update to the AT&T system and not an update from Apple.
     
  3. CyberGreg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    That sux, so you are not able to just 'restore' your iPhone?
     
  4. sdm1130 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #4
    Well, the restore completed with no problem. But, it looks like the iPhone needs to be re-activated after the restore... Anyone else have any experience with this?
     
  5. Kchino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, you can't use the phone without the activation. Guess you'll have to wait until tomorrow.
     
  6. PatMack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #6
    Maybe AT&T can still proform manual activations over the phone? Assuming you have an availible phone.

    I am looking for the Activation Help 1800 number but i cant find it... sorry
     
  7. bb0ys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    #7
    I just did a restore as well...grrr

    I'm in the same boat as sdm1130. I didn't know about the scheduled AT&T system maintenance and did a restore on my iPhone (I'm having the battery wont fully charge problem).

    As far as reasons for the system maintenance go, I don't think its a software upgrade for the iPhone coming from Apple.
     
  8. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    I really hope this means a software update. :D Why else would totally shut down activation?
     
  9. Kchino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #9
    <Mantra> An update is coming, an update is coming. I'm gonna keep saying it till it happens!
     
  10. Limey55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #10
    This is ridiculous

    A major problem with this iPhone BRICK is that if you dont activate the phone, you can't use ANY of the features, if you have restore it.

    Okay.. I can see not being able to use the PHONE part of the iPhone, but come on... not being able to use the iPod because you can't activate the phone.. give me a freakin break...

    They should have some workaround so if you have iTunes installed and you had activated the phone previously, iTunes would know that and it would at least allow you to use all the features except for the phone.
    (Without having to use the no activation hack)

    Extremely poor design...........
     
  11. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    Interesting I never realized that it had to be re-activated through AT&T with a restore. I can't even imagine the strain on AT&T if all the phones that have been sold and activated were somehow required to be activated again in one day - it will be interesting to see how the updates work. Somehow Im guessing they wont be required to be activated again and that is the reason for this update to AT&T's activation service, that or they are making more reliable so a massive re-activation would be flawless - or its just maintanance and has nothing to do with any of the above :eek: .
     
  12. opticalserenity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #13
    Here's hoping :)

    But really, it would be crazy to have to re-activate each time....poor at&t. (no, I don't really feel bad for them...heh)
     
  13. eye.surgeon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Poor design because you don't like it? It was designed that way for a reason. To keep you subscribing to AT&T. That was part of the deal with apple. AT&T isn't in this to sell you an ipod. They're a phone company.
     
  14. Kchino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #15
    No way you'll have to reactivate to receive an update. It is more likely that if there is an update in the works that everyone who activates or restores would be prompted to do so.
     
  15. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
  16. loudestnoise macrumors 6502

    loudestnoise

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #17
    When I put my iPhone into restore mode (after I was going through ringtone customization) and I decided to restore iPhone through iTunes. It did initially pop up with the Must Activate screen on iPhone, but once iTunes recognized it it asked me to either activate it or restore from "David's iPhone" so I just chose that. My brother though had SIM card issues, and when he got a new SIM he had to back through the activation screens. Kinda odd they don't have a process for such things.
     
  17. Kchino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #18
    That's a security feature, at least as far as Apple and AT&T are concerned. You have to pay to play with the iPhone.
     
  18. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #19
    So hang on does that mean you have to choose your plan and whatever all over again after a restore? What I would do is use the no activation hack to just use the iPod or whatever then restore then reactivate when its all back online.
     
  19. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/1A543a Safari/419.3)

    That stinks. Shouldn't the phone already know it is activated?
     
  20. mashoutposse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #21
    Try popping out the SIM and restoring from a previous profile/backup.
     
  21. CyberGreg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #22
    That is exactly what happened to me too. I was able to restore my iPhone from my back and it worked flawlessly.

    I seem to recall reading something about having to use the original computer that you activated with, to do a restore. Seems odd, iTunes keeps a backup after every sync.

    Sux for those that are stuck needing activation, only another 5.5 hours.
     
  22. DrVest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #23
    Update Possibly Coming Soon?

    I prematurely chose to restore my phone and this is the message I'm getting as of 12:14 PM EST.

    Take it with a grain of salt but I found it interesting seeing as people have been speculating an update come tomorrow.

    [​IMG]
    Shot at 2007-07-15
     
  23. joelcsf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #24
    When I attempted to activate my replacement iPhone on 7/8, I was greeted with the same message.

    Don't think it's indicative of anything specific - just that AT&T/Apple are doing some work on their servers...
     
  24. jg2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #25
    excellent point
     

Share This Page