Activation & Jailbreak problems 3G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mullenc525, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. mullenc525 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I have bought a used 3G Iphone that had 3.1.2 on it, locked to Rogers in Canada. My plan is to make it work on Telus. I have experience updating and jailbreaking the ipod touch using a PC. Currently I am using a G4 Powerbook with OSX 10.4.11.

    I "Erased all content and settings" thinking I would begin fresh. Now I am stuck on the activate screen, which I was not expecting. Should I be able to jailbreak without activating?

    I tried both pwnage and redsnow, and downloaded using firefox the 3.1.2 ipsw (though I am not certain I didn't revert the phone to older firmware during the reset). Neither jailbreaker will recognize the ipsw (note my phone was not connected at the point of IPSW selection) I tried blackrain and it froze my mouse and the phone stuck on its reboot.

    I don't yet have a Telus SIM, as my telus phone is CDMA (they have a hybrid HSPA and CDMA network) and I want my phone to work until I get the iphone ready to rock.

    Telus apparently gives special SIMs for Iphone's which I suppose make the activation work. I don't want this SIM as it requires me to have an Iphone plan where my current plan is much better. Is there a way around activation, or can I activate with somebody else's SIM and then put a regular Telus SIM in?

    Pretty much I'm getting fooled by this activation process I didn't know about, and the fact I can't jailbreak for some reason. Maybe I should try a PC to jailbreak?
     
  2. mullenc525 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    #2
    Update:

    I got redsnow to recognize the ipsw by downloading version 3.0.

    The jailbreak appeared to finish, with the last screen on the iphone being downloading jailbreak software. Now, it is back to the activate with itunes screen on the iphone.

    I was under the impression redsnow bypassed this activation?
     
  3. Deano.uk macrumors regular

    Deano.uk

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Teesside
  4. mullenc525 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    #4
    I can try it again but it froze everything last time. I read somewhere that pwnage tool is the only one for mac that will jailbreak & activate, not redsnow?
     
  5. Deano.uk macrumors regular

    Deano.uk

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Teesside
    #5
    I use 10.6 an no probs with blackra1n. Maybe try it on another mac/pc?
     

Share This Page