Activation Lock doesn't ping Find my iPhone?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by ethan028, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. ethan028 macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    So I tried doing a remote wipe of my iPhone and it went through okay and everything and now my iPhone is waiting to be activated by my Apple ID.

    My new erased iPhone doesn't show up in Find my iPhone....

    Don't you think that Activation Lock should ping find my iPhone and show up on the map?

    So when someone restores it you can see exactly where it is?

    Just my thoughts

    Ethan
     
  2. MarcusCarpenter macrumors 6502a

    MarcusCarpenter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #2
    That would defiantly be nice :) however if someone removes the SIM card it won't work?
     
  3. ethan028 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    It will if the iPhone is connected to wifi...
     
  4. MarcusCarpenter macrumors 6502a

    MarcusCarpenter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #4
    But don't it ask for activation ID and password before you connect to wifi ? I can't recall which is asked first
     
  5. ethan028 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    No, it asks for wifi first. Then it goes to Activation Lock. Then it asks for Apple ID to sign into iCloud.
     
  6. MarcusCarpenter macrumors 6502a

    MarcusCarpenter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I see, than maybe it would be something to look for on the 10th :) I live the way you can disable location service, ping the device from iCloud.com and it turns location on auto ;) so maybe it will do it for fresh installed locked devices :p
     
  7. ethan028 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    It doesn't so far :( I keep trying it.
     

Share This Page