Activation/Unlocking major help needed

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jackal424, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. jackal424 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #1
    Okay, so I'm really really new to this. So dont all beat me up at once.

    What I bought: A used 2g Iphone (previously under att)
    What I want to do: Use it on tmobile
    Symptoms:
    1) iTunes says "Activate your new phone"
    2) QuickPwn does not enter DFU mode.

    OS: Windows Vista Home Premium

    When I first got the phone, I think I made a mistake and did a complete reset data and settings. So now the phone stays at the slider screen and remains locked. I cant even do the stupid *3001... thing.

    So I think it's because my phone is not activated.

    That leads to first question,
    1) do I need this to be activated first through ATT before I can use it on tmobile sim card?

    Assuming I dont, I proceeded to using quickpwn 2.2.

    going through all the correct procedures as outlined by iClarified. When it's time to do the whole home/power key interactions, this thing fails every single time. I cant get it to get in that mode.

    This leads to my second question,

    2) Do I need any sim cards to do this? I bought this as a gift, so I dont have his tmobile sim card nor do I have an att sim card. I just want to be able to give it to him and have him insert his tmobile sim and it work right from the beginning.

    I've read everywhere how people can force restore mode and turn off phone and stuff, but the phone just stays at the slider screen no matter how long I hold down the power button (it dims, ,but I dont think it goes off).

    What am I missing?
    please please please help.
     
  2. neesh0 macrumors 6502a

    neesh0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    make sure you are restored to the latest official 2.2 firmware using the newest itunes, then try using quickpwn to unlock it again.
     
  3. jackal424 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #3
    ya i updated to 2.2 through iTunes, and still quickpwn doesnt work......

    is it possible my power button is not working? How can I test it?

    Is there a way I can somehow force that DFU or restore mode when that countdown occurs?
     
  4. JackMaurer macrumors member

    JackMaurer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #4


    press it and see if the phone turns off...
     
  5. jackal424 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #5
    okay so heres the thing. the iphone right now is at the slide for emergency screen. Its not activated and doesnt have a sim in it. If I was to hold down the power key...i notice the screen go blank, but I think thats just the dim feature.... when it goes blank like that....i hit the home key and I see the slider screen right away....

    doesnt that mean that it didnt really power down?
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    So you hold Power until it says Slide to Power Off. Do so.
     
  7. jackal424 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #7
    I did man, nothing....

    let me ask you this... when the phone is dimmed after 10 seconds...if i was to press the power button, should that wake it up? doing that on my phone doesnt do anything...

    if I do have a bad power button, anyway I can fix it?

    Thanks
     
  8. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #8
    looks like you've got a faulty home button, you should take it to apple before you do anything..

    and they'll say you need to acivate it :p so you may just have a dud phone..
     
  9. jackal424 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #9
    dude it's a 2g phone...i dont think the store is gonna do anything about it...

    i got a faulty home or power button?

    the power button presses down..but doesnt seem to do anything...

    i'm assuming the power button is the top right...right?
     
  10. tylertech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #10
    The power button is on top, the home button is on the front of the iPhone. If y.u press the power button on top of the phone after it dims, and it doesn't come back on, then the power button seems broken. Also, you wouldn't be able to shut it off.

    You need the power button to jailbreak, so you're kind of stuck...
     
  11. jackal424 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #11
    Yup, I think that's exactly what my problem is....power button is busted....
     
  12. jackal424 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #12
    well it turns out that I do have warranty on it...when I check warranty status online.....

    so is it possible for me to get a warranty exchange for an iphone that doesnt have an att contract or sim?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page