Activation?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by de.la.fuente, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. de.la.fuente macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #1
    I have untethered jailbreak and Im wondering if is phone also activated. I mean if Ill use original simcard it will works or do i need to somehow activated?

    thanks
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I think you're confused.
    Activation and unlocking are 2 different things.
     
  3. de.la.fuente thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #3
    sorry i mixed up, its tethered jailbreak

    im just wondering if i will have original sim, the phone will recognize the network or not?
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    No, if you have the original sim the phone will activate officially and let you into the homescreen.
    But if its not unlocked then it will not accept any other carriers sim but only from the company its locked to.
    Not sure if that's what you're asking or what you're trying to get to.
    You didnt even say what model iphone you have, what firmware version, tethered jb with what baseband version etc....
     
  5. de.la.fuente thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #5

    Ok. Is it like this... I was using my phone with gevey card but by mistake I updated to iOS 5 and I couldnt activate it bcause i dont know in which network is phone locked on. (purchased on ebay). Thats why how can I use it is just tethered jailbreak well at least as far as I know at the moment.

    So lets say If is locked in vodafone UK and I ll put vodafone simcard into device it will works or do I need to activate it (uprgrade and activation from homescreen)

    Carrier is 10.0, Model MC603B, iOS 4.3.5 (8L1) and baseband 04.11.08
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    If you tether JB it will let you into the homescreen but still nothing out there can unlock it to be used with any sims but the one the phone is locked to.
    Gevey wont work.
    Not sure how you can find out what network its locked to but if its locked to Voda UK for example you can activate it officially with any of their sims and use any voda uk sim with it. It wont accept any other carriers sims though.
    It was a pretty bad mistake, but you can always sell it as is and get a factory unlocked one.
     
  7. de.la.fuente thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #7
    Well yeah, pretty bad mistake. Maybe will be new update for gevey on iOS 5 soon.
    I can use the phone for apps, net... just not like a proper phone. I tried couple of UKs sim cards but still same - first appears like a bit of signal, which disappear after while and whats stands is just ''no service''. Thats why Im wondering if i need to update system and try to activate (for example putting various sim cards) or just put them straight way into device whilst is tethered.
     

Share This Page